Lifestyles of the rich & the famous...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Kilburn
August 23rd 2007
Published: August 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

View from the London EyeView from the London EyeView from the London Eye

...on a grey London day...
Well we arrived in London on Tuesday afternoon & everyone was asking 'oh you poor things how was your flight?' My reply was 'not so bad, because WE GOT UPGRADED TO BUSINESS CLASS - WOOHOO!!!'. Oh my god I really should be rich because that is the only way to fly, not only did we get the skybeds & the 3 course meals, they were also serving Billecart Salmon champagne, my favourite champagne in the whole world!! So you can imagine Fleury (mua') got her moneys worth of champagne - hehe!

Anyways enough skyting (had to just a little bit..), we had a great day yesterday with my gorgeous cousin Simon who I haven't seen in almost 3 years since I moved to Sydney & he moved to London. We were born a day apart so him & I are like brother & sister & it's been sooo good to see him. So yesterday we did the whole touristy thing, we went & checked out Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey, Parliament House, Big Ben & the London Eye. I'd have to say Buckingham Palace was the highlight of my day, they open up part of the palace for 2 months in summer every year while Queeny is away, so we paid to do that & I really enjoyed it. We did the State Rooms tour & talk about extravagance! We saw all sorts of sitting rooms, a portrait room which was this long hallway about 80m long full of paintings of the royal family (there were some paintings by Rembrandt I noticed), the official dining room & the official ballroom. The queen even had this mantlepiece near this dining room which was also apparently a 'secret door' from which she could enter, I thought that was pretty cool! Steve & I also went on the London Eye, which was ok but I thought Buckingham Palace was much more of a highlight. Unfortunately we couldn't take any pics inside the palace, security was very tight.

Then last night we went to this GREAT little pub/restaurant called The Newman Arms with this little pub restuarant upstairs called The Pie Room. My friend Jodie who just recently moved to London came & so did my cousin Simons partner, Bruno who I met for the 1st time. Had a great time eating this massive chicken, brie & walnut pie & drinking cider. Really felt
Fleur & Si @ Buckingham PalaceFleur & Si @ Buckingham PalaceFleur & Si @ Buckingham Palace

The terrible twosome!
like I was in London! & the weather, hmmmm, it's summer here & it feels like an aussie winter.... But not to worry we're off to Madrid this saturday so will catch up on the rays there.

Today we're off to do some more touristy stuff, check out a few museums, national art gallery. We're doing practically the ONLY things that are free in London. Then I go to pick up my best friend, Emma from the train station. She's coming down from Sheffield & I haven't seen her in 5 years! Cant wait to see her!

Laters, Fleury & Rizzo xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



23rd August 2007

Hi lovelys, Sounds like you're both having a wonderful adventure. Seeing your pics is getting me excited about my o/s trip next year! Keep 'em comin'. Safe travels and take care. Alana xxoxx
23rd August 2007

champers
Billecart Salmon champagne, got 1 word for your woman 'Verve'
23rd August 2007

Jolly good, what!
Dahlings you must have seen my portrait in the ol' bucko palace, eh? A rather good likeness of my stiff upper lip. Well, i hope you continue to have plenty of fun and go easy on the corgies...oh and DO give my best regards to Ma'am. HRH Princess Stephanie (of Beaconsfield)
23rd August 2007

Woohoo
hey kids, great to see you arrived in not so sunny london. looking forward to catching up - don't worry it's meant to get sunny this weekend, doesn't matter cause you'll be in espangola - hope you've been practising. hope to see you friday. xx
23rd August 2007

Love Your Work
I'm soooo jealous! love the pics, keep them coming. You look like you are having a ball - ENJOY!
24th August 2007

SUMMER???
It looks to cold to be summer over there :) Tell Kylie i said HELLO if you bump into her over in the UK!!!!
27th August 2007

hola
I hope you're getting some sun now! Can't wait to hear more of your adventures. I'm holed up in bed with the flu and bronchitis, boo hiss, so you need to have some extra fun and write about it to keep me entertained (or you can just make it up...I'm good both ways).

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb