Air-ogant


Advertisement
Published: June 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Met my first person...in Winnipeg. As I sat at the bar waiting for my flight to board, I noticed the girl next to me order a shot of tequila. This was Mel, and as it turned out, she enjoys taking the edge off just as much as I do before getting on a plane. I opted for two glasses of red wine as my medicine (and possibly two hits of ativan).

Anyway, Mel was from Toronto and had just spent two months waitressing on Lake of the Woods, to which I of course impressed my expertise about the locale. I may have left out the term 'Camp Counsellor.'

But here's the kicker - she had decided to dump her job so she could spend the rest of the summer in Croatia with family. I myself will be passing through in August. Mel gave me her info and I now have an apparent contact in Croatia. "Call me up" she said. Not even through Winnipeg security yet and I'm already making friends.

My flights were a blur. On the way to Ottawa I watched about half an hour of No Strings Attached and then conked out on various drugs, wine, and will. When I got off the plane, walking required intense concentration, as did hiding from people my slurred and insiped verbal self-musings. The Ottawa airport was a ghost town. I swear we were the only flight leaving. Before take off I popped pills for flight #2. In the air I ate a quick meal, watched ten more minutes of No Strings Attached and then passed out, headphones still in ears, tv still on. I awoke hours later to the announcement, "We are just beginning hour descent into London." Sweet! Quickest transatlantic flight of my life.

After a lengthy wait to go through customs I arrived at baggage claim to find that my entire plane's luggage had already been through. Three pieces of luggage were left behind, one of which was mine. (Didn't everyone else on my plane have to go through cutsoms? Why was I so far behind? I'm bothered.)

Listened to a Spanish tourist ream out the airport staff for the long lines, then took the tube to Victoria Station. David met me there right on time and I am now resting at his place. Already had a nap. Hopefully I can sleep tonight.

And hopefully I will one day finish No Strings Attached. Urgency, however minimal.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb