Flirting with London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Kensington
January 23rd 2013
Published: January 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Gloucester Road StationGloucester Road StationGloucester Road Station

Chilling at BK with free Wifi
Finally with a 12 hour flight to Helsinki and a 3 hour transit, I've finally arrived at London. Like a very exciting little kid, I was shouting within myself when the plane arrived, greeted with slight snow and an awesome weather (as compared to scorching heat). Well, firstly it is my first encounter with snow, like REAL snow, and secondly, the weather is too cooling (or Shiok in Singaporeans' terms!) for an Asian who experiences summer all year round. Thanks to my friend, George, I manage to reside my heavy luggages safely with him, before a short walk around London, near Gloucester Road and Kensington area. And I also got a quick tour of Imperial College which is in the area. Well, that was when a series of 'what-ifs' came up to me. Already been accepted into the college, what if I obtained a scholarship to study here, things would have been so different. Perhaps in another parallel universe, I would be in that position maybe! Of course, it will always be a question mark, but I have never let it be a regret in my life, because I know I have gained so much from more education back home as well. As the saying goes, the grass is always greener on the other side. but anyways, after a quick late lunch, it was time to fly to Seville for the start of a 10-day adventure in Spain. I will definitely be back to London for a more thorough and deeper understanding of this magnificent city. For now, these are perhaps some of the virgin impressions that i have of her:


• very impressive connections with the tube
• friendly and really helpful locals
• familiar road names and places (thanks to years of watching and following EPL)
• beautiful buildings and architecture (ok, maybe its because its pretty different from those in Asia)


For now, its time some Tapas and Flamengo dance show in Spain before I return.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



19th February 2013

Reminds me of 1986
Yes 1986. My first time EVER in Europe. Was in London on scholarship too, and "never wasted a weekend." That's how it all began with this wanderlust. [blog=452881]
14th March 2013

London
amazing! I'm sure u had the time of ur life during ur time studying there. I was initially gunning for that too but had to settle for studying back home instead :)

Tot: 0.458s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 33; qc: 117; dbt: 0.1371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb