More Adventures!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Kensington
May 29th 2012
Published: July 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Even though the semester was over, my adventures were not. Mom got to London on Monday early in the morning, and I met her at the airport. We dropped all of her stuff at the hotel and drank some tea so that she could regain energy. Then we headed to the Latin Quarter to get a canal tour. What we didn’t think about, though, was that we needed cash to get on the boat! Although we missed the first boat, we got time to sit down for a snack and got on a different tour. The tour was very nice, and went through a lot of London, even Regent’s park. It ended at Camden, and mom and I got off to shop. I took her to some of the cheap stands to get lunch. Although it is not the best food, it is still pretty greasy and good. After we had spent a ton of money in Camden, we headed to Oxford circus so I could show her my campus. We found this really cool bar that gave a great view of the city, and were able to have a rest overlooking Soho and St. Paul’s. After, I took her to
Regent's Canal TourRegent's Canal TourRegent's Canal Tour

Both of us were falling asleep on the boat!
Pizza Express and we both crashed at the hotel.

The next day we went out and about again! I wanted to show her all the places that I hung out last semester, so we headed to Shoreditch. We ate at my favorite breakfast place, The Breakfast Club. I then took her on a tour of my dorms and all of my regular hang out spots. We decided to change the plans up a bit and get bikes and go to Brick Lane to shop. We went to a few cool vintage shops and found a great jacket. That night we tried a new thai place, that ended up being very good and cheap! We also went pub hopping to a few different places. My favorite place that we went was called Calu Calay, and was inspired by Louis Carroll. They had cool themed drinks and we even got a teacup full of popcorn!

The next morning we got a late start, and had trouble finding breakfast. After we finally got everything sorted, we went to Westminster Abby and went on a walking tour. I can’t believe that I hadn’t been there yet until then. It was gorgeous and
View! View! View!

Our view from the Georges restaurant and bar.
the audio tour gave a lot of great information. We had lunch right by there at a historic pub. We then went to the Churchill war rooms, which were used during World War II. That was one of my favorite things that I had done yet in London! It was so interesting reading about all the precautions that were taken, and how Churchill didn’t always follow them! Afterwards we went to Chinatown to eat, but on the way went by Trafalgar square. They were having a huge free showing of the London Opera! It was really cool; they had a really large screen and blow up cushions for people. Mom and I decided to eat first, and then head back to watch a bit. But on the way to the restaurant we ran into a movie premiere at Leister Square. There was a ton of people surrounding the red carpet and police everywhere. I don’t remember what movie it was for, but we got bored of waiting for famous people and decided to eat instead. After we ate we watched some of the opera, and then headed home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Pizza ExpressPizza Express
Pizza Express

Finally showing mom pizza express!
Night OutNight Out
Night Out

Popcorn in a tea cup!


10th July 2012

what fun!!
sounds like a great continuation of your great semester!!

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 50; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb