London Day 5


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Kensington
March 27th 2011
Published: March 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Last day in London. 😞 We really do love it here. It reminds us of Portland in so many ways.
Today we went to see the changing of the guard ceremony at Buckingham Palace and the changing of the horse guards. The horse guards were really cool because you could get right up close to the horses and riders. The changing of the guard at Buckingham palace I found to be kind of a mess. None of it made much sense. At one point the band (one of 2) played YMCA. WTF?? How does that relate to the changing of the guard at all? Unless its the Queen's fave.....
Then we walked through St. James park. It is so beautiful with everything blooming.
The most exciting thing of the day was going over to Westminster Abbey and seeing Prince Charles leaving! Woo hoo! That was pretty cool.
To round out the day we walked over to the London Eye and I wanted to go on it so bad....but Ems was having none of it. So we went to Harrods instead. Everything in that store is obscenely expensive. I picked up an umbrella and it was 265 pounds!!!!! That is almost 10,000 dollars American........or something like that....

Off to York on the train tomorrow.....gots to be up at 6am. :P


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Westminster AbbeyWestminster Abbey
Westminster Abbey

For some reason I keep calling it Westmenstral Abbey....I can't stop.
Dodi and DianaDodi and Diana
Dodi and Diana

The Dodi and Diana memorial in Harrods.


28th March 2011

What?
What in the hell is that weird statue of Dodi and Diana? They are skipping hand-in-hand, while holding the tail of a seagull? I so totally don't get it. I mean, c'mon, she was dating the guy, but it wasn't Romeo & Juliet. I know his father owns Harrod's, so I totally get it that his dad is trying to cash in on Diana's fame, but still. That is a random "scene." I suddenly have Debbie Boone's "You Light Up My Life" in my head.... I miss you!!! AK! You come home Friday!!!
28th March 2011

Thank -You!
I LOVE the guard pictures! Em is so very cute! Your pictures have been a real treat! Thank God you had 'this pic is for Kim' on the Beefeater' and not the 'pot bucket' Miss you!
29th March 2011

London
Getting to see Prince Charles is not what every tourist gets to see like the changing of the guards etc. Dad
29th March 2011

HI
Hey you...I finally got to take a look at your trip..what a wonderful time. You are such a great picture taker. uhhhhh can't believe that coat of armor..lol..Paris looks so pretty. Well continue to have a great time! Susan

Tot: 0.209s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb