Journey to London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Kensington
January 15th 2009
Published: January 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

January 15th
I have been in London for about five days now. The flight here from Fresno wasn't as long as I expected most likely the result of anxiety and benedryl to put me to sleep. I got lucky at the airport since the American Airlines attendant didn't really bother that my bags were heavy and over their limit. I arrived into Dallas fairly early and got some good ol' chinese food before I left for London. The 9hr flight to Heathrow was pretty good being that no one sat next to me giving me a good bit of extra space to but my backpack and food that I broguht on the plane. We were about to land a full hour early but London as well as most of Europe was experiencing an extreme cold spell with temperatures in the 10s and 20s freezing the fog making it difficult for planes to come and go. We circled Heathrow for about an hour, and waiting on the runway for about another 30muntes (no exaggeration). Hopped off the plane and through customs and I was by myself and into the UK. Picked up my bags and headed to the tube station which was relatively easy to find. I headed onto the Piccadilly line to head to Kenington where I was to meet up with my cousin Jason. it was cool to head out on the the railways and see the snow coming down in London which is a very rare site to them. The tube filled up very very fast and I felt like a nuisance with my gigantic bags when people were trying to make their rounds to work, school, or wherever their destination might be. I got to Kenington station in about 45min and my cousin picked me up in the sub-freezing temperatures. We immediately went to the local pub down the street where his friend was a manager at. We watched the Aston Villa football match and I was introduced to a "proper english" breakfast with ham (bacon as they call it), eggs sunnyside up, baked beans, sausage, hash browns, and orange juice. We left the pub and came right back a few hours later to watch the Liverpool match. I was able to meet a lot of local south londoners there which was really cool, it was nice to somewhat assimilate. the next day we came right back to the pub to watch the Manchester United Chelsea football match to watch the red devils destroy the blues. It is nice to be able to drink freely at a pub with no worries of Scotland yard coming in to regulate.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



19th January 2009

im loving it!
I love it! u described it all soo well...i feel like im there as i was reading it. keep the blogs coming! :)

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.1mb