London Day 2


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Kensington
May 14th 2008
Published: May 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I woke up to my alarm at 7:30 am. I stumbled out of bed because my legs were aching from all the walking from the day before. I went to the basement of my hostel where they were serving breakfast. I found some dishes and poured myself a bould of corn flakes. I made myself toast and poured an essential cup of coffee. I sat with Anna, from the Ukraine. She could barely understnad me, so conversation was simple.
After being worried that Harry overslept or left without me, he finally walked into the kitchen still half asleep. He ate his meal and we decided we'd start out toward Buckingham Palace and explore Hyde Park. The coffee helped with my aching legs, so before I knew it I was approaching the glistening Victoria Memorial and golden gates of the Queen's palace. We wanted to return for the cahnging of the guard at 11:30, so in the meantime we explored the surrounding parks. These parks are absolutely beautiful! Harry told me that years ago they only admitted nobles and royalty to see them.
St. James's park had swans and flowers that you would never expect in a city. The pictures I took
St. James ParkSt. James ParkSt. James Park

Love this picture! Swans in the city!
were stunning. As we were walking we heard the trumpets, fiddles and drums of a marching band. We continued to walk and the noise got louder. To my right the Royal guard was having a parade. It was like nothing you would ever see in the USA. They're so much cooler than the secret service that protects our country's leadership.
From there we walked up Consititution Hill to see the Wellington Arch and WWI & II memorials. Then it was back to Buckingham Palace to join the mob of people that had formed outside her majesty's gate. Before I knew it the guard was marching. I was awestruck. I think the fact that I'm finally living the trip I'd spent so many months planning struck. I called Pop's as the Royal Band began playing songs like Michael Jackson's "Thriller", Cyndi Lauper's "Time After Time" and the Star Wars theme. Our American culture has had quite an affect on London.
The show ended, the crowd dispursed and Harry and I headed to Hyde PArk. I really wanted to see the old Peter Pan statue, he wanted to see Speaker's Corner. The size of this beautiful park is incredible. We walked past
Royal GuardRoyal GuardRoyal Guard

Our surprise Royal Guard Parade! Look how many there are!
Princess Diana memorials, Kensington Palace, Italian Gardens and Peter Pan statue. We felt like we'd walked a marathon so we took the Underground to Marble Arch and Speaker's Corner on teh other side of the park. To our disappointment there weren't any protests today. Prime Minister and Queen must be doing a fine job... So we went down to Notting Hill to check it out.
From there it was to the British Museum, which is probably my favorite place in all of London. i looked at things like the Rosetta Stone and Statues from the Partheon of Greece, Mummies of Egypt, including Celeopatra, and the Neierd Monument of the Lykian tombs of south Turkey. It was simply amazing.
4 hours later, Harry and I went to St. Paul's CAthedral. To our luck mass was just starting. So we attended mass in teh most beautiful place of worship. I truely felt blessed.
As it concluded our stomachs were growling! We walked by a decently priced pub, Old London Pub, and I ordered Chicken Kiev and a pint of Wherry English Ale. It really hit the spot. We headed back to the hostel exhausted. Harry looked so tired his eyes kept rolling
Changing of the GuardChanging of the GuardChanging of the Guard

Me at the Changing of the Guard, Buckingham Palace
back. I believe he passed out almost as soon as we returned. So no birthday celebration 😞
I entered my room and Samuele had returned form his day of shopping. He showed me his newly aquired possessions and began trying to convince me to accompany him to a club, The Electric Bird Cage. By assessing the name of the place and how Samuele was dressed (Dog collar, spikey barcelet, black nail polish, etc.), I had a feeling I wouldn't fit in. Samuele tried to help my lack of fashioin by accessorizing, but I just decided to change into my dress. All the changing was in vain because when we arrived at the Electric Bird cage in Piccadily Circus, it was all business people. Samuele didn't exactly fit in, he was shocked his friend recommended the place. We went down to the local pub and had a drink with some interesting people from Sweden. It was a blast. I don't know how I'm going to wake up tomorrow to catch my train!
By the time we headed home, the Underground had closed so we took the bus! I rode at the top level. Those buses are cool! And they make sense, I don't understand why we don't use them!?



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Peter Pan StatuePeter Pan Statue
Peter Pan Statue

Playing on Peter Pan's statue.
Statues of the PartheonStatues of the Partheon
Statues of the Partheon

In the British Museum.
St. Paul's CathedralSt. Paul's Cathedral
St. Paul's Cathedral

I attended Mass here. It was beyond beautiful inside, Ireally wish I could have taken pictures.
Samuele's AccessorizingSamuele's Accessorizing
Samuele's Accessorizing

Haha, fashionably improved.
Piccadily CircusPiccadily Circus
Piccadily Circus

Out on the town in Piccadily Circus
Double Decker BusDouble Decker Bus
Double Decker Bus

I was so amused by the double decker bus...


24th May 2008

Hey, I'm not that weird!

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb