I'm HERE!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Hendon
June 27th 2008
Published: June 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm here!

After a huge mess at the airpots, I'm here safe and sound, and have been now since 2:30pm london time, which is 8:30 am central time.

My flight into Houston from Lubbock was supposed to leave at 1:10 pm CST on thursday. We boarded the plane, sat on the runway for 2 hours and then returned to the gate. We were at the gate until 6:10pm, at which time we re-boarded and finally took off. The weather around Houston was really bad, and therefore we couldn't take off because so many planes were trying to get in and out still.

Because of the delay, both Clara and I missed the 6:25pm flight to London, which was delayed to 7:20, but we both arrived around 7:40. We were booked over to the 10:25 flight though, and we left out from Houston on time on that one.

The flight wasn't too bad, but it was 9 hours (shorter since we were going with the rotation of the earth). So we didn't get much sleep and had been up for several hours, and once we arrived we had to fight baggage claim. Somehow Clara's got redirected but mine did not.

So, I am in London with my carry-on only, which includes basically nothing but my toothbrush and paste, as well as medicine, and hand sanitzer. Then my laptop and school books/paper. They say tomorrow I'll have my bag, but I have my doubts...I am going to have to go somewhere to buy some clothes or something tonight or tomorrow morning...preferably tonight since I have no other shirts, and don't want everyone looking at me tomorrow saying 'he was wearing that yesterday'.

Anyway, that's all I can say now. I'll update on everything else later, Clara and I just took showers in the grotesque facilities offered in this dorm ala 1800. BUT, we're in London and couldn't be happier.

We're off to see the city! Love you all and see you all in 4 weeks. I'll be updating tomorrow or the next day with pictures and more stuff.

-Ryan

Advertisement



28th June 2008

I'm so sorry! Airports suck! I hope you get your bag tomorrow, and no worries, no one would care if you wear the same thing. Good luck.
28th June 2008

I hope not! We're going to ASDA (Said like it looks) at 11:30 london time today, so I'm hoping that I can get a shirt and some other things to tide me over till my bag arrives.
28th June 2008

Wimbeldon!
Have if you only have white clothing, you can always go watch some tennis at the Championships! Be safe buddy!
1st July 2008

Impressive
What are you planning on doing on your travels? Stopping off at Stonehenge? Indulging in bangers and mash in a little quaint Welsh tavern by the fireplace watching the guy on table 9 spill food down his beard?
1st July 2008

Of course! We're visiting Stonehenge this weekend, Sunday I believe. As far as Welsh taverns go, the best place to nip into one of those is Wales. We'll be heading to Ireland in a couple of weeks, so we'll take the train to Wales, and hopefully eat there!
2nd July 2008

Man that sucks that you had to be delayed to London and that your luggage didn't get there!! You know what I did when I flew, was I took an extra pair of clothes just in case my luggage didn't make it on time. Next time you should try it ;P Sounds like you are having fun though

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb