Waiting In Heathrow


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Heathrow Airport
September 14th 2008
Published: September 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I write this from the Heathrow Airport, where I am three and a half hours deep into my layover. My travels started out at SFO before the 10-hour flight to London. After seven hours here I will finally be off to Uganda on a 13-hour flight to Entebbe, which is twenty minutes outside of the capital Kampala. Unfortunately, I wont be done yet. I will then catch a ride for five-and-a-half hours to Fort Portal along the western border.

So far the flight has been relatively painless. While our British Airlines 747 was slightly cramped I was happy to find their on-board entertainment system full of movies and TV shows I actually found worth watching. I didn’t even break out my iPod Touch that I had hurriedly filled with movies on the way to the airport (something that is causing Anna great amusement I’m sure). I also started the Road by Cormac McCarthy, a novel my friend had thought I would enjoy. Good pick Jenn.

I’m still waiting for the enormity of the this experience to take hold, but perhaps I’m just sleep deprived…



Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0599s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb