Last day in Europe


Advertisement
Published: July 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, I know it's been a while since I've posted anything here. It's honestly been a very busy time since I last posted and I have about 15 min before I start boarding my plane back to the US at the airport, so I'm going to try to get in what I can.

So, I think the last time I posted anything was Wednesday. Since Wednesday, I've gone to Paris -- had no internet access there -- came back to London and was working or hanging out and not being able to do much with this since.

So, Paris...

After getting left late from work on Thursday, I made it to the hotel got my luggage and headed for the train station, which was only my second time for riding the tube, so I got slightly lost and probably ended up spending more on my oyster card than necessary, but when finally arriving on the platform for the train that would take me to the Eurostar station, I saw that it was 5 min till the train arrived. WHEW!!! was all I could think. Then, after talking to a nice older gentleman, I found that it was fortunate that I left work later than planned as he had just been standing there waiting for 20 min for the train due to a delay. So, I realized that if I had been on time, I would have been stressing wondering when I would be able to leave.

So, I got to the Eurostar station fine and ended up sitting across from a cyclist who was going to Paris to ride in a pre-Tour de France event and was very worried about getting his bike when we arrived in Paris. He was a very nice gentleman originally from Newfoundland, but was currently living in London with his wife and twin boys who would be starting secondary school in the fall. He "showed me around" Europe as we were travelling on the train to Paris by pointing out where we were along the way and ended up telling me he's a journalist who writes for an american website on cycling and gave me the address and his name so I could check on how he did in his event. I haven't checked, yet, but will check when I return home. We also talked a lot of politics and I got a lot of his opinions on our politicians and the candidates for the current election.

Upon arriving in Paris, I said good-bye to my new friend and started my journey to my hotel. I had been given very good instructions, but apparently, it still took me over an hour to get to my hotel. Upon arriving at my hotel, I contacted my associate to let him know I had arrived and he took me out to see Paris as he wouldn't be able to show me around over the weekend since he would be gone. By the time we got in to town, he showed me around a bit, and we made it back to the hotel is was very late and I was very tired, but came back, called my family and went to bed.

The next day I worked pretty late and was tired from my late night the night before, so grabbed something fast and went back to the hotel to eat, call my family and go to bed. I tried to log on then so I could update my blog and check email and found out then that the internet was out. So, I got up the next morning intending to see Paris and it was raining. I went ahead and got around and was advised to go in to Paris and see the museums at least.

I have to board my plane now and will finish this later...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb