Gk in the Uk


Advertisement
Published: April 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

GK in the uk. The prelude.



Well, what a couple of weeks. Having planned to leave almost a fortnight ago, the boys won their way into cricket finals and a change of flights 12 hours before I was meant to depart was rushed through and 9 days of full time slave labour for my old man was the new plan. I have spent the l ast 5 days, 9am to 5pm in carlton gardens at the Melbourne International flower and garden show. Seriously, if I have to dross to another old nuffy about how much she loves her begonias, cymbidiums, orchids, fruit trees, veggies etc I may well have to cause them physical uncomfort!
Anyway, all that was done, we had a good show, thanks only to the fact my parent s have at least part of a salesman in them, tim sold two shade houses in a day own at warragul and even mum was able to bully some nuffys into buying a house, yours truly sold two fifths of five eighths of you know what. We knocked down the four houses, then rushed home for me to do my final packing and head off for my 00:50 departure from Melbourne.

On the Saturday of the show, and the day before I left, I had only just looked at my Visa into the UK. It did not start until the 4th (wed) and I would be arriving on the Monday! What to do. The UK embassy did not answer the phone, why would they be working on a Saturday. The travel agent had never seen this before and he didn’t know what to do, whats the worst they could do he said (send me home I guess, but I said nothing.) the only advice he had was to turn and play dumb, See what would happen - shouldnt have a problem with playing dumb.
We boarded on time and everyone on the plane was seated by about quarter to one, and the captain came on the speakers praising us all and saying with the weather conditions we should be due to arrive early into Singapore. What a wanker! 15 mins after that we still haven’t moved from the gate and he comes on the speaker explaining that there is a small problem and a slight delay with the planes hydraulic system. 15 mins later, he says maybe the small delay is a slightly larger than small delay. Half an hours after and were still on the plane at about half 2 and he is saying there is a small chance that the plane wont be leaving tonight. At about 3 or so, he says there is no chance that the plane is leaving and could we all disembark to the departure lounge while they keep having a look. The poor man in the lounge was pretty much on his mobile constantly in between making announcements to keep us al informed. We sat in the departure lounge for about another hour or 90 mins, while they confiscated all our precious duty free bottles of grog and tried to work out what they’re doing with a F ULL plane. Hundreds of mutes stuck in the airport at 3am in the morning, not very pretty, no change of clothes etc….
About 4 or half past they finall said sorry guys, we don’t know what’s going on and surprisingly theres not another boeing sitting around, so we have booked you all a hotel or a taxi, bugger off, and we’ll call you all on your mobiles when we’ve worked out what were doin. We all had to get cleared back through customs, I have a feeling that my customs guy must have been woken up and called in he was so grumpy, then again, maybe he is just a wanker. either is likely I guess.
So in the 36 hours since then Singapore airlines has shouted me:
A cab ride back home ($65, mum and cath (transiting to geelong via werribee) were somewhat surprised to see this mute on the doorstep at 6 bells having not slept, obviously fearing the worst with my visa fiasco and thought id been thrown out)
Another $70 back ot the aiport at 4.30 so I could make my 8pm departure.
A box of chocolate on boarding of the new plane in melb.

A $40 limousine ride to my hotel in Singapore, I have a feeling got chezzed here, I went to the taxi rank, but a guy pointed me towards a very flashy looking merc and ushered me in. he then charged me $40singapore, which I payed, then when the hotel had to reimburse me they balked
I don’t know how much for the hotel room in singa. It was a great room, with the biggest bed ive ever seen. Flashy amenities etc… wow. Given that the plane got in so late, then customs etc… I got to the hotel at 2, watched the first half of everton v villa, then went to sleep about 3, got up and ate my free buffet brekky at the hotel (4 courses, don’t worry I made the most of it..) then got a cab out of there about 9 or so. Total time in hotel - 6 hrs. cost, surely a hundred or 2!!!
$18 cab ride back to change airport! Now im sure I got chezzed on the last fair.

13 hours on a plane, I had watched about 4 movies, 3 episodes of everybody hates chris, read my book form jamie and amy (thankyou very much its cool & very interesting, I will try and drop in some scientific facts to my emails, so you know I have learnt something!) I got into London heathrow. Ok, shitting myself time. What will they do about my visa.. well, sorry for the anticlimax, but she didn’t even look at it, asked me two questions, smashed her stamps hard down on my passport and wished me well (in a tone of voice that definitely said she did not care in the least if my train crashed and we all died.) wow, these customs workers need to get out a bit more…… When you get here, you actually go straight from the airport lounge and into the tube so the first time you actually get ‘outside’ is when I got off at Russell square tube station for my 5 min walk to my accom.

ITS BLOODY FREEZING.

It said 5 degrees. Ive been in five degrees before, its not that bad. Well, here it is. The wind genuinely blows straight off the arctic, and then gets colder as it travels over her. God damn man, no wonder everyone is so fat over here! As if you’d go outside.
Generator is cool, except for the south African dude that came home at 4 bells and wanted to talk non stop for the next three and a half hours and try and pick fight, I’m not here for you guys to like me he said, damn right, you keep talking while I keep sleepin you wont be here for livin either chez.
I’m off for some shopping now, I will be following the three e’s for my presents for anyone I think worthy. (e-arly in the trip, e-xpensive, and e-xtremely aquad to carry….)


Advertisement



7th April 2007

Hey Greggles, Hows it? I'd just like to say that i have so far enjoyed reading about your overseas adventures, it has provided me with a thorough amount of entertainment, and will, when i use it to procrastinate from doing work. Keep up the good work 'ol mate. I look forward to hearing of your debut on the field. Don't forget about that place called 'the church' you should go there i reckon. Alright, Gotta roll. Happy easter tomorrow (our time) whenever the hell that is over there. Lut

Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0645s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb