CLIC Sargent


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Hammersmith
August 12th 2012
Published: August 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Our main officeOur main officeOur main office

That is my main supervisor at the far end!
The whole reason I studied abroad this summer was to run rampid around the cheeky streets of London and to spend ungodly amounts of money on souvenirs, right?

WRONG.

As a student participating in this study abroad through the College of Communication Arts and Sciences, I am receiving 6 credits for my 3 classes and 7 credits for my internship - 13 in total.

Yes, I did travel 3,963 miles from Chicago to London to experience rich British culture and a variety of new activity - the Jubilee and Olympics were just added bonuses - but I also made the trip to experience working with a proper event planning team in a foreign country.

Before arriving in London, I learned that CLIC Sargent is the UK's leading cancer organization for children and young people with different types of cancer. "CLIC" stands for "Children with Leukemia in Childhood." 'CLIC Sargent' was formed in 2005 after a successful merger between CLIC and Sargent Cancer Care for Children.

I knew that I would be working with the event planning team on various events that they host throughout the summer. What I did not anticipate was how amazing the experience
My  bossesMy  bossesMy bosses

Sophie Tibbitts on the left and Hana Tiller on the right
was going to be and how attached I was going to get to the organization and to my colleagues.

From day one, I have felt loved, cared for, and accepted by my co-workers on the Major Events team. They have always been there to answer my inquiries, to patiently educate me on new tactics being introduced within the company, and to laugh at my stupid jokes. They taught me how to make a proper cup of English tea, which I will be bringing back to America, and what the difference is between a cookie and a digestive.

Of course there were nights after an event that I would be out until 2 AM and would have to be at work the next morning at 9, but their smiles and kind hearts made it extremely worth my time and effort. They taught me the ins and outs of event planning and what it takes to be a successful planner.

After 13 weeks of organizing, coordinating, and collaborating I am happy to say that I have completed my first internship in a PR sector and am one step closer in search of my future career. I will miss my
Windsor RacecourseWindsor RacecourseWindsor Racecourse

Our first event of the summer was held at Windsor Racecourse on June 25. This is where I was able to see my first racehorse in action!
team dearly and plan to keep in touch with them.

This one goes out to you, Sophie and Jo!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Masterpiece Midsummer PartyMasterpiece Midsummer Party
Masterpiece Midsummer Party

Our biggest event of the summer and of the year, for that matter, was held at The Royal Hospital Chelsea on July 3.
The Grand Prix BallThe Grand Prix Ball
The Grand Prix Ball

Our third and final event of the summer was held on July 5 at the Hurlingham Country Club in Ranelagh Gardens. The event celebrated a year of Formula 1 Racing and was sponsored by two of our loyal patrons.


Tot: 0.217s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb