The New Gaff in Greenwich


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Greenwich
July 19th 2006
Published: July 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Farewell Woolwich. Goodbye to the walk from the station, the rubbish on the streets and the high police presence. Goodbye to the nice Indian lady in the shop who had my train ticket ready for me before I came in each day. Goodbye to evenings on the couch drinking too much red wine with Julia. Goodbye to the most quality power shower ever experienced.

Hello Greenwich!

Greenwich has been the area of choice for beer consumption and dining since I've been here in London due to its closeness to Woolwich, the fact it is full of nice restaurants and bars and that it is a nice central meeting point for the hockey girls. With the closing of the Woolwich Arsenal station for a few months to allow for DLR extension works I decided it was time to up stumps and find a new home. Greenwich was the answer. It's not much more rent, I'm in Zone 2 now and not zone 4, the park is up the road and I am spoilt for choice when it comes to pubs (none of which were recently been shut down for being the hub of drug dealing to the south east of London as one in Woolwich was rumoured to be).

I live in a cottage now. It's called "The School House". It's part of a bigger complex that was an old school. The main building remains as converted flats and I live out the back in a little house that must have been a small home or additional school area. I live with three randoms: two guys and a girl, two English, one Scottish. I didn't think I'd ever return to share house living - I was sucked in by the loveliness of the house- but on the whole it's been fine.

The kitchen is huge and may just encourage me to spend time in the kitchen. Lovely Greenwich Park and the heath of Blackheath are very close to me and may encourage me to run some more. There is no TV in my room which may encourage me to reduce my time couchbound. I live closer to work which will DEFINITELY encourage me to sleep in for an extra twenty minutes in the morning. I have high hopes for life improvement based on this move!

The garden out the front is covered with an ever changing rotation of toys belonging to the many sproglets that live in the complex. With the weather being so nice lately I’ve spent a lot of time in the garden reading the paper. There is a quality curry shop across the road (number pre-programmed into the phone for convenient pick up on the way home from a late night). There's a big supermarket nearby and a little grocer up the road for emergency purchases. The train stop is one minute away.

Thankyou to Pippa, Dana and Shane who all helped at various times with the move. You are all wonderful and I owe you beer.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



30th August 2006

The New Pad
Jooji, So fab to see your new pad...the Dining room is a winner!!! Will do my very VERY best to come over for a visit some time soon :) Luv sal xoxox p.s. notably devoid of fruffles lately??

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0594s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb