Day six update.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Greenwich
January 29th 2007
Published: January 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, I've been here almost a week now. Not sure if it feels as though I've been here for ages, or still just arrived. I've certainly been busy, that's for sure.

Thursday 24th, I came to the locum agency (where I am now... gleefully taking advantage of the free internet access). It was only a fifteen or so minute walk from the hostel, and it was quite interesting to look around as I walked along. That evening, Kerri and her friend Anna came to meet me, and took me out for a drink, and a welcome dinner at Chiquitos, a Mexican restaurant on Leicester Square. Both the girls are lovely, and lots of fun.

That night back at the hostel, the fire alarm went off at about 11pm. Thankfully, I hadn't long arrived back, so I was still dressed warmly. As I stood out on the street, amongst the crowd watching the fire engine pull up, I thought to myself, "perhaps I'm just too old for this shit."

Then I thought, "nah, don't be silly"... and wandered off to the nearby Boots store to purchase an extra travel adaptor.

Thursday 25th... Kerri had invited me to stay
Henna handsHenna handsHenna hands

Admiring my souvenir.
with her for a little while, so I checked out of the hostel, checked my luggage into the luggage room, and went off exploring the local area. As I walked along Regent St to Oxford St, I couldn't help but laugh to myself, at the thought that I was on the Monopoly board (Bec, that's where I was when I sent you a text).

Along Oxford St, I was able to purchase a long puffy coat, at the bargain price of £21. This coat is warm. Very, very warm. And puffy... although, I don't think I look too much like the Michelin Man. Heading back to the hostel, I discovered Macintosh Heaven! Otherwise known as the Regent St Apple store. Two whole floors of everything Apple Mac. Possibly spent a little too long in there, but the bonus was that I got to check my email.

I met Kerri at the tube station (starting to get the hang of it by this stage) and we went to her place, where I was very relieved to drop off my pack and suitcase.

Friday 26th... Australia Day! Went in to meet Kerri at her work, and got to meet
Hostel fire alarmHostel fire alarmHostel fire alarm

Waiting outside in the cold.
her class, along with some of the staff. Had my first exposure to school dinners (fish pie), and wondered why people complained about them. Turns out the cook at the school is quite good, and therefore the meals there are above standard.

Kerri, Anna and I went to Kerri's favourite Indian restaurant for dinner... yummy food! From there we headed to Covent Garden, where we met up with some of Kerri's friends for a few drinks. Wasn't a huge night, but was lovely to meet everyone. Quite strange on the way home, to be passing Tower Bridge and other such sights.

Saturday 27th. Kerri headed off to babysit for a friend, and I caught the tube to Bank/Monument station, to take a walking tour. The tour lasted 3.5hours, and there was no charge, as such... the guides work for tips, so if they do a good job, you pay accordingly. Nick, our guide, was great... he obviously has a passion for London, and told stories with such enthusiasm!

The great thing about this tour, along with seeing some of the sites for which London is famous, was seeing the little things that aren't featured in the Lonely
Regent St Apple storeRegent St Apple storeRegent St Apple store

Macintosh heaven, Em!
Planet book. For example, the piece of wood from the original bridge built across the Thames by the Romans. Or, the Mithras temple, also from Roman times, unearthed in the 1950s.

Sunday 28th, Kerri and I did a little sight-seeing, and a little bit of shopping. We met up with her friend's sister and her husband, and together we all went to Regent Park. Walked to the top of Primrose Hill, from where you can get a great view of the city. All in all, it was a really good day.

Monday 29th, and here I am at the locum agency again. Off shortly to do some more wandering around. (I'm doing so much walking here, no wonder I'm so tired at the end of the day!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

The MonumentThe Monument
The Monument

First stop on the walking tour. Monument to the Great Fire of London.
Nick, walking tour guideNick, walking tour guide
Nick, walking tour guide

Fabulous story-teller. Big hair.
Temple of MithrasTemple of Mithras
Temple of Mithras

You can't see this from street level. People walk by this amazing structure every day, without realising it.
St Stephen's TowerSt Stephen's Tower
St Stephen's Tower

Home of the Great Bell of Westminster (aka Big Ben).
Sunrise WalkSunrise Walk
Sunrise Walk

Not far from Kerri's place. One of the great things about shorter days, is that you don't have to get up as early to catch the sunrise!


31st January 2007

Glad you are still enjoying yourself. I am enjoying reading your diary (just like when we were younger). I have sent you a few text messages - hope you got them ok. Can't wait til you post some photos - I imagine you've taken a few. Love you lots - from us.
31st January 2007

Ahhh
Feel better knowing what u been up to and seem to be having a marvelous time! I can picture it all! Wont be long till I am back there! Enjoy a pint or two for me! Mwa!

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb