Windsor and St.Paul's


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Enfield Town
October 3rd 2005
Published: October 4th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Tower BridgeTower BridgeTower Bridge

View of the Tower Bridge.
I got back from my planned Study Abroad Program family stay. I stayed with a host family, an older retired couple and their 5-year-old great-grandson, in Woking England. It was a good time and a great break from my dorm and a great chance to eat food that is not peanut butter (or what England claims as PB) and jelly sandwiches. We went to Windsor Castle, which was huge and to yet another cheap market, which was great! Don’t worry Dad, I didn’t buy anything! In the manor of Windsor Castle is St. George’s Chapel. St. George’s is so beautiful and rich with tombs of former leaders of England. Henry VIII and one of his wives, Jane Seymour (the one he actually did ‘love’), and one of his infants by Queen Anne is buried there along with Princess Charlotte, who would have been the Queen of England if she hadn’t died at the age of 19 during childbirth. If she would have lived Queen Victoria would not have ruled over England, makes you think about moments in life that change the future for you and everyone around you!! The sculpture above Charlotte’s tomb was so magnificent and breath-taking that Brittany and
Tower BridgeTower BridgeTower Bridge

View of the Tower Bridge.
I looked at it for at least fifteen minutes. In St. George’s you couldn’t walk five feet without walking on some famous/influential person, it was almost creepy. Today I went to St. Paul’s Cathedral, ENORMOUS, and The Tower Bridge of London. The bridge was over-rated. It was neat to see but it almost looks fake. But St.Paul’s was incredible. Katie and I got to the Cathedral twenty minutes prior to the Evensong (evening prayer), so we stayed and attended the service. It was so awe inspiring to be there because as I was sitting in the wooden, gothic style pews (where I think the choir used to sit during large services) listening to the young boy’s choir sing these glorious prayers, I was also thinking about how many influential leaders of London sat in this same area or seat as I was sitting, giving praise to their Lord and Country hundreds of years ago. It was just amazing to be able to experience the service and scenery. I also booked a flight to Dublin today for about 25gbp, which is great! The flight was only .29 pence to and from but with taxes it added about 24gbp to the price. I’m going to try to get some rest because tomorrow is another day of sightseeing, well maybe. Oh, and to those that don’t know, a lot of the museums and sightseeing attractions are free to view. Some charge and some don’t. The only place I’ve visited that has charged me anything so far was Windsor Castle and if you bought a pass at St. Paul’s you could go to the other rooms besides the main part.

I didn't post a picture of St. Paul's because the one's I have don't do it any justice. It was really hard to get a picture of it because of the enormity of it and the proximity of the surroundings. I also didn't post any pictures of Windsor Castle because, being the procratinator that I am, I forgot to pack my camera (I know, what kind of tourist am I?) but I will get some from a friend and post them as soon as I can.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb