Back In the Same Bunk


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Earls Court
April 21st 2008
Published: April 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm a lucky girl.

1. Workshop in Calgary for one week with personal hero--where not only was she super nice, but I loved the work we were doing. I happen to be very good at finding heros who are nice.

2. Having lovely friends and family who did special things to make this trip better. Cards/money, hugs--my TA girls (and Hisham) giving me that lovely coat (which has been really handy as it's been cold and windy and rainy here a lot).

3. Just being able to take this trip.

4. Staying with the nicest people possible! When my mom was in Africa, she met Judith--from England. They stayed in touch, and Judith agreed to let me stay with her and her family in Lewes--which is south of England. Close to Brighton. I was a little nervous--because I didn't know them at all.. but they were RIDICULOUSLY nice to me. I still feel a little guilty about it. Like I didn't think them enough, or should have fought harder/longer to pay for lunch or something.
I can't remember when I last wrote, but I'm fairly certain that I explained our quick trip to Brighton and to the beautiful Palace of King George. It was really stunning.
In addition to driving me all the way out there--they even made me lovely veggie meals both nights. They were great, by far the best food I've had here so far. I was super happy to to be eating sandwiches!!
Also--that night was great because they have a HUGE soft bed, and I was delighted to have a space to myself. I know this will be few and far between.
The next day--again they went way out of their way, and drove for 1.5 hours (in each direction) to Jane Austen's house, in a very small town.
It was actually really interesting. I think one of my favorite things were letters she wrote to various family members around the house, first edition books. The other thing I will always remember is a letter her sister Cassandra wrote to her cousin after Jane had died, explaining her last couple of days and moments. It was really sad. Her and Cassandra were very close, which is probably why there are always close sisters in her stories.
I also had ginger beer for the first time while we were having lunch in the town. Seriously--that stuff is way stronger than I thought it would be. It makes gingerail seem like water. I liked it though, and might try to find it again.
That afternoon I walked around Lewes. It's really a fascinating little town. I took lots of photos. Postcardville.
They really did go out of there way to make me happy and comfortable. It was really very nice of them--I've never really been treated so well as a guest. I hope that they come to Canada some day so I can attempt to repay the favour.
This afternoon Judith drove me back to the train station, and I came back to the same hostel.
Somehow I'm back in the same room, and even in the same bed, as I was last time.

This afternoon I went to the museum of Natural History. It is not as good as the one in NYC. Not even close really. There are things that are good though---BUT it was free!!

I am a little worried about money. For that reason, I'm anxious to get out of the UK.

You know, I started this thing with my hilarious irish woman story.. that was a high bar to set. Nothing quite that exciting has happened since. I might have to start making things up. Tonight I almost felt like I had a social life because I went for dinner with a girl from Australia--then we both came back here. I've met several people who are moving to London, and she is one of them. No one has a job or anything--just hope. I guess most of them can go home though--I don't think Adelaide is really a volotile climate you have to avoid.

Tomorrow I'm off to Dublin. I have to take the tube, then a train, then a plane then a bus... and THEN I'll be at my hostel. Wee. Maybe there I'll find a pot of gold at the end of the rainbow. Or maybe I'll see my irish friend. If I see that woman I'm totally a) throwing something at her or b) throwing her off something or c) thanking her for letting me ride in the space ship. Maybe it will be a combination. I sort of like a B and C combo.

Okay---well I'm gonna head back to the hostel I guess. I"m sharing the room with two Germans. Where is Anja when I need her. Nine kindre and ya, are not getting me through many conversations. But their English is much better than my German... which is not a surprise.

More from Ireland.
Lana

PS
HJAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA SNOW!! HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAH

PPS
Okay that was mean.
It's not warm here either. I sort of hope it snows when i get back so that you can all pay me to shovel your walks because i'll be power poor




Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0844s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb