Cute little cottage on Little Roke Ave...owight?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Croydon
May 22nd 2008
Published: May 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Next leg


Roho:

So flying long haul sucks even if you thought you were smart to break it up halfway in Singapore for a week.

And for the gateway to the Middle East for an extremely popular and otherwise very lovely airline, Dubai Airport is a heap of shit.

Rich:

Mainly due to the showerheads next to the toilets - I mean what the hell are you supposed to do with those things?

Roho:

Wash your....self, I would think...but I didn't think you even got to see the toilets because of the filth? I didn't get near the toilets because of the queue!

Rich:

I had to queue too - for the first time in my life! I walked in, saw the water all over the floor of my toilet cubicle and thought 'I'll save it for the plane!'

Roho:

Dubai to London was MUCH nicer than Singapore to Dubai - we saw Dubai's famous hotel-with-a-tennis-court-on-top and that ridiculous palm thing, plus some interesting looking islands, quite a lot of desert, snow capped mountains and some nice Belgian or Dutch countryside.

Rich:

After seeing a 1 kilo block of gold at Dubai Airport, I think that's what I'm going to save for next! It was 115,000 dhirams (think that's how you spell it? UAE currency anyway) - find a currency converter to find out how much that is in NZD! One day Richard, one day....

Roho:

Heathrow Airport was a bit scary, we felt like we got a little bit interrogated at Immigration and I almost thought I'd have to pull out my little folder of documents with tickets and bookings in it. It took a while for our baggage to come through and I started to get baggage paranoia but really it was all smooth sailing.

Rich:

I found out what Lisa inherited from Mum's side of the family, as when we saw her in the arrivals hall she started to cry - in fact come to think of it, I wonder if Mum has stopped crying yet from when she left us at the airport?

Roho:

It could be something to do with airport aircon?

Rich:

Good try, dear. They just need to take a concrete pill and harden up (phrase copyright Honkle Chris). Lisa and Terence's little house is lovely, even though Rohani broke the bean bag within 24 hours of our arrival and I had to sew it up! Thank goodness for Form 2 sewing!

Roho:

I did Form 2 sewing too and it didn't do me any good!

Rich:

It's OK dear, I did Form 2 PE and look how I turned out!

Roho:

Touche. So the drive from Heathrow was interesting, I felt so Top Gear on the M25, watching all the trucks in their lane and noting what sort of cars people drive here and wondering if they were thinking about Top Gear when they bought them. Kenley is a cute little village in Croydon, which as it turns out, is near Hever Castle - cue Tudors, Philippa Gregory and Anne Boleyn fever!

Rich:

Who?

Roho:

English history darling, never mind. We love this house, complete with slightly rambling cottage garden, sunny kitchen and gas radiators in every room. Granted, a train goes by out back every few minutes, but of course that doesn't bother Lisa and Terence! And it's nice and close to the train station.

Rich:

I sometimes wish I was deaf too! But then I forget how wonderful it is to hear Rohani saying 'Richard do this, Richard do that'.

Roho:

Oh you mean like hearing Richard at 6.50am saying 'Get up, 12 hours sleep in two nights is enough'?

Rich:

I did not! I said 'Get up PLEASE'!

Roho:

Whatever. Why don't you talk about your favourite thing in Lisa and Terence's house - the middle drawer of the freezer?

Rich:

Ah, yes. I sometimes wish I had a butcher living with me! Lisa showed me the middle drawer of her freezer - and said, 'this is all bacon from Terence's work, so help yourself'.

Roho:

Nuff said. Today we've been to the village to do the errands as Nana would say, the errands being picking up some essentials - bread, milk, Coke, chip flavours you can't get in New Zealand...as per usual I could've spent hours in the shop but I'll have to do that while Richard gets his hair cut tomorrow. There are Malteser ice creams here! Going to have to check those babies out...

Rich:

We walked into the local barber today and the lady behind the counter said, 'he's gone to the dentist but he's cheap and good!' and I thought to myself, just what I need, a good, cheap barber with nice teeth!

Roho:

So Saturday is sight seeing day. Exciting. Sunday we plan to drive to Brighton. Monday is a public holiday - yes, two public holiday Mondays in a row in two different countries! So we hope to be able to catch up with any available friends then.

Rich:

I'm done.

Roho:

OK. Yep, so, that's us, arrived in London, still alive, loving it so far, excellent to see Lisa and finally meet Terence, looking forward to what's coming! Oh, and we've gone ahead and booked our Busabout right through to St Johann in Tirol, our last stop in Austria, seeing as there is going to be some big football deal there this summer that will make accommodation a nightmare. So on Richard's birthday we will be on a bus from Munich to St Johann!

Don't forget to subscribe so you know when we've posted something new, and keep up the comments and messages!

Lots of love,

Rich and Roho

PS - (Rich):

Go the Hurricanes!!!!

PS - (Roho):

I picked the Crusaders cos I'm a slapper. And a realist.

Rich:

Correct on both counts.

Advertisement



22nd May 2008

Alwight!! I promised myself I wouldn't weep happy but I guess I couldn't help it. I had a sleepless night and was so damn excited to see you. I can't remember the last time I weeped... so gotta let it all out at some point. Don't we all...?!
7th July 2008

Dubai Showers...
... were brilliant when we were there! Twas a spa like place near the 5 star hotel in the airport that you could hire by the hour, nice n private like, but during our 4 hr layover having flown from NZ via every city possible, we decided to take advantage! Loving the comments, 2 man show is great guns - and when are you back in London town so I can come see you????? xxxx

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0636s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb