My UK chapter is coming to a close...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Canary Wharf
August 4th 2010
Published: August 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

10 days of freedom
I can't believe how fast it's all happened. Tomorrow is my 1 year mark of living in London and on Monday, I will be going back home to Canada.

I'm grateful, and feel truly blessed to have been able to experience life in Europe, and in one of the biggest cities in the world to boot. I've learned SO much about myself, about others, and just about life in general that I KNOW I wouldn't have learned living within the familiarity of Toronto.

Living in London....
I've learned that North America is NOT all there is, and outside of the east and west coast of Canada and the USA, no one really cares about the US. I've been spared from experiencing the Jersey Shore phenomenon, and have had the pleasure of watching 'Come Dine With Me' (a cooking show) pretty much whenever it's meal time. Having flatmates who sound North American makes me feel close to home instead of REALLY far. Making friends from all over Canada taught me that Toronto is NOT all there is.

Attire in London
I've learned that people in London and Europe in general have a WAY better sense of style and dress a heck of a lot better than North Americans. Suits are not just for executives; all the guys in our IT department wore suits, and at the very, very least, a collared shirt and trousers. A drastic change from the golf shirt and jean clad IT departments of Toronto. Cuff links are not just for 50 year old British men named Giles, (I've seen some cool ones shaped like 'Hot' and 'Cold' faucet handles, and ones shaped like footballs) nor are they just for men either.

Working in London
I've learned that the corporate world is not all there is. I've learned that there are corporate jobs that serve a purpose (ie: Regulatory bodies such as the FSA, SEC, OSC) and that there are other corporate jobs that don't (ie: jobs that require acting like a middleman to find jobs for people who don't need jobs anymore and then charge exorbitant amounts of money doing so) the scenario of the rich getting richer and the poor.. getting..well you know.

I've learned that while you can be good at something, you may not want it as your job. Why be in it, if your heart's not?

People in London
They drink alot - beerwise and teawise. They curse a lot. My dad was also right, that while they may have a sophisticated sounding english accent, it doesn't mean they are. There are homeless people in London. There are both good looking and not so good looking english people, and both have equal footing when travelling to other countries on account of their accent. English people like naming their children with names of old: Simon, Giles, Lucy, Louise, Alice.

Travelling from/around London
I will miss the Underground system. The Tube is SO much better than the TTC, compare 11 lines in London to the pathetic 2.5 lines in Toronto. You don't miss driving, and for the most part, it's very reliable. The only complaint I have is that it closes a bit early (1230am) and then you'd have to find a Night Bus to take you home.

It's been great to be based in London, and having the convenience of super discount airlines at my disposal. In one year i've travelled to 6 countries, and probably for less than $1500 total. I will definitely miss being able to fly 2 hours and be in a completely different country/culture. I'll definitely be back.

All in all, it's been a great adventure. A year is a good enough amount of time, to see London and some of England, to see a bit of Europe (Germany, Norway, Amsterdam, Belgium & Wales) and Africa (Egypt). It's time for something new now.







Advertisement



Tot: 0.185s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0704s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb