Finally in London


Advertisement
Published: July 29th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well I had a good flight through to London and was ready to leave Egypt at this stage anyways.

I arrived in London to be greeted by their perfect weather - a lovely summers day pouring with rain!!! I collected my bags and headed towards the doors after clearing customs, concentrating on thinking about what I had to do and finding an information desk to check which tube stations were open after the recent bombings, so that I could make my way to Matt & Vicky's house.

I walked out of the doors and saw Vicky and Matt standing there with my name on a sign with a picture of Australia on it!!!! I've never been so happy in my life!!! It was a great surprise and very appreciated!! I hadn't been looking forward to finding my way with my very heavy bags and being in the rain. Although when I went outside I was happy enough to be standing in the cool rain after being in the heat of Egypt for the past 10 days or so!

We made our way back to their unit which is situated in the Isle of Dogs. A nice quiet area not too far from Canary Wharf.

I finally got to look through their amazing wedding pictures and video. Both looked excellent and I have to say I hope that Matt thinks of himself as a very lucky man!!!

Vicky and I caught up over a few glasses of gold old Australian wine then made it out for Chinese with a couple of their friends.

The next day I felt fab after having more than 4 hours sleep for the first time in a while and I'm please to say that I did absolutely nothing the whole day!!! short of checking a few emails.

Found out my tour doesn't start until the 6th of August which is about 6-8 days later than I though so thinking about taking a trip to Scotland or Wales to fill in the time.

Went for a walk to Canary Wharf and didn't end up doing any of the things I'd planned for the day but I did manage to catch up with Jenny, my original roomy on the Southern Tour!! We had an excellent time just catching up over a drink (seeing a pattern here???) and Jenny helped sort me out with directions so that I could manage a tube ride and make it to Wales! Thanks Jen! appreciate your help!!!

Hoping now to head to Wales to catch up with Adam (off the Grand Northern Tour) now that I've figured out how, who has kindly volunteered to be my guide for Wales!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.321s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 21; qc: 69; dbt: 0.161s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb