Canal Capers


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Camden Town
February 8th 2011
Published: February 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I'm quite rubbish at updating my blogs regularly as I'm sure you've worked out and have just had the shocking revelation that I have been neglecting London itself. Here I am living in this fantastic city and yet my focus is only on the trips out of it!. London has so much to offer and as I explore more of it I'll hopefully be able to provide some insights into great things to do which don't involve flashing lots of cash, but will require a physical commitment.

My friend Blue and I have made a pact to explore more of London on a regular basis and I thought I should share our first jaunt of 2011 which was a wander along the Regent Canal from Little Venice to Camden Markets. We were joined by my other friend Bruce (of past trip blog fame!) and spent a lovely couple of hours strolling and checking out Canal life.

Simple little 4.5 mile walk. Catch the tube to Warwick Avenue and then follow the signs when you get out of the tube. When you hit the canal, right for Little Venice which is fundamentally a junction for various canals (I expected more). Do a loop around little Venice and make your way back to your starting point. With Warwick Avenue Tube at your back turn left and follow the canal until you hit Camden Markets. Then eat yourself silly or even drink some mulled wine (it was chilly). One note is that not long after leaving Little Venice the canal goes underground for a while - just keep walking forward - you'll pick it up again!

Enjoy x


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Bruce Bruce
Bruce

of India, Skye, Belfast, Cambridge, Normandy .... etc, etc, fame
Lost SoulLost Soul
Lost Soul

hope he found a home!
We were there ... see the pretty signsWe were there ... see the pretty signs
We were there ... see the pretty signs

don't actually need a guide, but she did well and is good company
Churros StallChurros Stall
Churros Stall

We all had one!


Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0314s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb