The Beginning


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Camden Town
January 12th 2008
Published: January 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have arrived in London, England. Flying in at 8.30 in the morning, I had a clear view of parts of the city. There I saw my first view of a red double decker bus, the Millennium Dome, and other stuff that looked important and impressive, but I’m not sure what they were.

James picked me up from the airport and after going to my new house, and dumping my stuff, went back into the city for a quick tour of the sites. It was all a bit of a blur, as the jet lag was kicking in, but it was pretty cool to see the things that are so famous.

I had a great New Years Eve. I headed into Embankment to a club with James, Megan and a whole heap of her friends. It was a great location and we had a great view of the fireworks over the river and London Eye from inside. Good times had by all.

Since the New Year I have tried to find (and remember) my way around the city. I’m slowly getting there… In my exploration, I did venture into a McDonalds, and had a cheeseburger. Much to my
NYENYENYE

Megan and Me
delight, it tasted the same as back home, with one great edition…BACON! Hooray!

Last weekend, I nerded it up, going to the Star Wars exhibition with James, Shaun and Krystal. They had a live show called “Jedi School” which incorporated small kids learning some moves, then to go on to battle Darth Vader. Highlight was when the fat kid shit himself as the big man was going through the motions.

Following that, we went to the Tate Modern. Some weird stuff going on there. Highlight was the crack that spans the entire foyer area.

I also went ice-skating that night with James, Tim and Kristy (both housemates) at Somerset House. That was heaps of fun. The ice was packed though, and it was hard to dodge the other skaters, as surprisingly, most people were pretty bad. There were some spectacular spills though! So funny. Fortunately, none of which were any of us.

The following day it was my first day of work. I know! Working already! But it is going to pay my living expenses, so I can keep my money for further travelling. My job is in retail working at Snow + Rock, which is an outdoors store.

That is about the extent of it at this stage. I haven’t been out yet with my camera, so that is for the weeks ahead. At the end of February we have planned a weekend in Ireland for James birthday, and then I am heading to Egypt and Turkey for April, with more plans in the pipeline.



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Hamstead HeathHamstead Heath
Hamstead Heath

This is walking distance from our house and is HUGE!
More Hamstead HeathMore Hamstead Heath
More Hamstead Heath

This is used in when filming Period Pieces
Change over timeChange over time
Change over time

The guy in the back ground, nearly walked right into me. I guess I was in the wrong spot!


13th January 2008

hey chic!
WOW!! you sound like your having the best time, and all your picture's are so awesome...Im sooooo jealous ;) lol I like the photo of you ice skating, it's such a u photo..pose and all...lov it! Ive been making surre to read all you blog posting, as I quiet enjoy the read and always get a laugh from ur funny adventures aka the fat kid on the star wars ride...lol that would have been so funny to have seen. anyways keep tho's fun and amusing blog's coming :) have fun, stay safe and peace out! mel :)
13th January 2008

Nice One
Glad to see you are all settled in and having a blast!!

Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0934s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb