A day in the country


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » East Sussex » Hastings
January 24th 2008
Published: January 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Trying to get onto the blog thing more regularly now. There was heaps of little things I missed out last time, like how the miserable people on the tube don’t like to smile, yet find it OK that they can just pick their nose. Interesting. And another, KFC chips don’t have the awesome salt on them! That is what makes KFC chips the best. Also instead of potato and gravy, you get baked beans. Weird.

The New Years resolution is going well. It is easy to tone up in London, as there are so many stairs everywhere. I still don’t have to exert myself by making myself exercise. It just happens on its own through everyday activities. Hoorah!

So work pretty much keeps me occupied, and keeps me from spending my money, which is good, as then I will be able to do lots of trips. Unfortunately, pay is on a monthly basis, but fortunately it is this Friday!

On the weekend, James and I ventured down to Hastings to meet the family. We got up early to catch the train, making sure I could have a look around the town before we headed up to Aunty Julie’s house. It was my first trip out of London, so I was doubly looking forward to it.

When we arrived in Hastings, James took me on a quick tour, starting with my first pebbled beach. You know you are in England when you see a pebbled beach. Their seagulls are different too. Much bigger, and not as screechy.

We had a look at the Fisherman’s Village and the Old Town. We also got swindled at the Arcade. The claw game was rigged. Out of the thirteen tries we had, eleven picked up our Zippy (of Rainbow fame. If you don’t know what Rainbow is, it’s a kids show, and I recommend you look it up on YouTube) only to drop it at the same point each time. Grrrrr.

We then started our walk up the West Hill. You need stop and enjoy the view a few times, as there are a lot of steps, and then a steep climb. But it is very pretty to look at and well worth it.

Meeting the family was great and a lot of fun. The roast we had was delicious as well. Good day had by all. But silly me forgot to get the camera out, so no pictures. My bad.

And now it’s back to work. Unfortunately and sadly, I don’t have Australia Day off, so it will be tame celebrations from me. Everyone have one for me!



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



25th January 2008

Issues
For some reason, I'm having issues with the photos posting as they should. Actually got some to work this time, but I give up. You get the idea! Em

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0689s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb