Potato Wedges and Puffa Puffa Rice!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Bloomsbury
September 24th 2008
Published: September 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Who ever invented the idea of maths at 9 in the morning obviously never had a taste of their own medicine. It was, quite literally, painful to try and stay awake in that class. He handed back our assignments, not sure if those are even any part of the final grade at all, but I was quite suprised to see that I got a B-. My first mark of the period and it is a B-! I must say that I was a little disapointed. I've been disapointed with many things lately. Including how much I am spending, how tired I feel all the time, which I am sure has something to do with the fact that I don't have a gym membership, how little time I have to go exploring, I feel like I haven't written about anything interesting here since the trip to Brighton. So I apologize to those of you that are turning to me for some sort of excitement. And here is proof to what I mean... 10:30, class is out, I have no theatre class that afternoon so that means I am free until 3. I had planned to go down to the national gallery, but instead I went back to bed for a few hours. Only getting up to do some required reading before class. That disapoints me. No more of this Sarah. You are going to bed at a descent hour, getting up earlier, getting out more, taking more pictures, and spending less. Knowing the people I live with, this will be very difficult. Having to maintain a social life makes independent living very hard, especially when the people you are connected to socially are nothing like you. What I wouldn't give to have my friends here. This is probably why I find myself wanting to go to Reading all the time. Chris and I are alot alike, at least in areas of interest, and I always feel really happy there. It's never lonely.

oh, point of interest: I went to the theatre last night. The Old Vic to be specific, it is owned by Kevin Spacey and has had actors like Peter O'Toole and Richard Burton. The show we saw was called Table Manners and was the next installment of the Norman Conquests. I must say this one was soooo funny. I haven't laughed like that in a long time. The man who played Norman was brilliant in this one. At one point over breakfast, everyone was mad at him and giving him the cold shoulder so he was trying to get them to speak, it was so hilarious, and he was obsessed with his puffa puffa rice cereal. I went out looking for some but that must be a 70's thing. Or maybe the fact that I live in central London and have only a very limited grocery store has something to do with it... never thought I would say it, but I miss Wal-Mart, and actually being able to understand food labels.

After the show we were all starving so we stopped at the McDonalds on Oxford St. All I wanted were some potato wedges. Yes, Mcdonalds has Potato wedges! But they were out! So I settled for some chicken and went about my people watching. Not that I was there alone, I just think Oxford street is a great place for people watching, specifically at night, especially in Mcdonalds. There was some hispanic woman in the corner wailing, surrounded by young girls all hugging her. There was a set of twins dressed in formal business attire, made quite absurd by their shaved heads and ice cream cones. Which are called flakes because they have a stick of chocolate sticking out of them that is a type of chocolate called flake. You can get those all over the place. There was a woman that had to be carried out because she was so drunk, there was a couple in the corner that were smiling ear to ear because she had just told him that she was pregnant. And then there was the absurd Asian transvestite that wouldn't stop staring at himself in the mirror. He did have great hair though.

Today, I woke up late, of course. As I was sitting on my bed separating my clothes the maid came. Don't think this means we are spoiled, she literally does nothing except take our stuff and put it in places that we will never find it. She comes in the room while I am doing this, I say hello, she says nothing. She runs the hoover across the centre of the room then leaves. Few minutes later she comes in and does the same thing with a mop. I had to laugh. Just one wet stripe down the middle of the floor was absurd. Oh well, it's not like I'm paying her for it anyways. Maybe her life sucks, so I'll cut her some slack. Then I went for a wet walk to the post office. So if you mailed me any letters, expect your reply soon. Sorry if you don't like post cards, but they are really all I can do, both time and monetarily wise. It is way more epensive to post a letter, plus I like to pick out postcards.

Never again will I wear flip flops, espcially when it is raining.

Observation: Bread does not come with twist ties, it comes with stupid stickers that never work after you open it once. Or maybe I have just not mastered the art of bread stickers.



Advertisement



24th September 2008

You are my hero!
Miss Sarah, Your blog has made my life suck less! I no longer feel like an Avenue Q muppet... okay maybe a little. Just an FYI, Carla and her oldest daughter Rachel will be in Paris Oct 4 to 18... (Leah will be there longer) I told her to take the tube or Ryan air and go visit the crazy American living in London amongst the Britts. (My spelling sucks too...actually my typing sucks worse) I am so glad you got a lap top... even if you will become a SIM addict. LOL Things are good here, but the kids miss you. It's funny how you worked your way up from a lowly little male in Robin Hood to the out own Miss Pensacola! Well, you have my love and the respect of all of your peers here... even El Rico of Havanna fame. When you get a sec. Please send me your physical mailing address. You never know what evil we might send you wrapped in Duct Tape!!! Aaaaugh! Well, I'd better get back to work. I haven't checked my Premier standings yet this week, but I am sure my Tottenham Spurs are letting me down again... With lots of love and affection....(stay away from ovens) Your old Drama Mama, Mr. T
24th September 2008

It may be of very little interest but puffa puffa rice is now called rice crispies....I really should learn to keep my boring internal monologue internal ;)
25th September 2008

get to bed!!
Sarah, maybe you should get to bed a little earlier! What have you got planned for your birthday Saturday? Love you, miss you, Mom
25th September 2008

aww mom, but all my friends are still up :)

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb