Dad time


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Acton
April 9th 2009
Published: April 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

9/4/09
So I had an interview at the Swan yesterday. It’s a cute little pub across the rd which boasts the largest pub garden in London. They’re a pretty multicultural bunch. Polish, Irish, Aussie. The Adelaide chick is leaving so she wants to replace her with another Aussie. It seems like a really close-knit and friendly team. Two problems. First, she thought that I may have had hospitality experience that I hadn’t put on my resume. I don’t know why anyone would not put relevant experience onto a cv they’d handed in. She was happy enough with me that she said she’d give me a go. The other thing was that she warned me the pay was really bad. It’s 5.60 which is not enough to survive on, let alone go travelling on. Plus she’s emphasised that she needs someone to stick through the whole summer. I’m going to get work within 3-4 weeks (through the social care agency) that’s better paid and better suited to me and I wouldn’t want to be trapped in a bad job and unable to take up such work.

Dad and Jenny were in town this week so we caught up with them. On Tuesday they came to Chiswick and we cruised the op shops. Then on Wed, Ronan and I met up at the London eye with them. We walked by the Thames and grabbed some lunch before we had to go home for the interview. Would’ve been good to do more with them but it was a classic case of Murphy’s Law. That interview coming up at just the wrong time.

Liz is coming to London from Ireland tomorrow night. It’s been sooooo long since I’ve seen her!
She’s visiting her sister.

Ronan is working his arse off this week. He’s doing 12 hour shifts Mon, Tues, Thurs, Fri. A little part of me felt vindicated that he was working my hours for once but that’s pretty petty. Besides, it’s not like I always handled the long hours that well.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb