Kit and Stuff


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London »  Earlsfield
June 25th 2011
Published: June 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Now just over a week to go. All booked and ready to go. Thought I'd put a list of the key elements of what I have chosen to take with me:

1. Boots - probably the most important piece of kit I went for the Scarpa Mistral GTX
(url=http://www.scarpa.co.uk/Products/Product.asp?ProductId=113)
Really comfy apart from first few days when the upper cuffs rubbed the inside of my ankles. Didn't take any time to break in and have been wearing them in really wet weather - they have held up so well. They will become a true friend on this trip I feel.

2. Back Pack - had to get one that was as light as possible and managed on my first try-on to purchase the amazing Osprey Talon 44L. Fits llike a glove and is really light. Won't be after I fill it. But am really determined to keep the weight down on this trip. It really gets great reviews and is extremely comfy and has been fitted expertly for me in the great Ellis and Brigham, Covent Garden. I did start out on a quest for a minimum 35L pack but the Talon 44L actually is sooo neat and squashes down very tiny and then expands to allow a few extra temptations for me to squeeze in. and the 35 L looked so weeny for my trip!
(url=http://www.ospreypacks.com/Packs/TalonSeriesActiveLightPursuitsMultiUse/Talon44/)

3. Poles - well not having used them before I was a bit sceptical and decided in order to ease the strain on my knees, I would go for one only and so I now have one pole. Figured out that if I needed another I could get one en route? Will there be a pole shop at the top of Kinder Scout? Possibly a skelp but perhaps not the version I would be looking for! Anyway went the Leki route and got their "Makalu Jasper - soft anti shock". I have not yet used this pole and will be a pole virgin when I take my first steps out there next Tuesday. It could end up being vey annoying or a real ally. I will keep you posted.
(url=http://www.wildearth.com.au/leki-makalu-jasper-antishock-hiking-trekking-poles-p-778.html)

4. Water proofs - keeping to my usual tried and tested North Face kagool- probably 10 years old by now and still going strong. It folds small and is light and has always kept me nice'n dry. Did however invest in what I really wanted for some considerable time and that was a pair of good eazee on eazee off waterproof trousers and happened upon a great and perfect pair in Ellis and Brigham basement sale, Marmot with zips up both sides, elasticated cuffs and button downs. Have used these regularly in the heavy rain of this June and they are excellent. Snug and lightweight. Extremely good value at half price in the sale.
(url=http://www.cotswoldoutdoor.com/index.cfm/product/marmot-womens-precip-full-zip-pants/fuseaction/products.detail/code/22110012/group/188/level/3)
I mentioned the gaitor dilemma in an earlier post but decided upon cheap and cheerful and got a small pair in Mountainlife. If they are useful they will last at least for this trek.

5. Have invested in maps to tale me halfway Explorers at 1:25,000. I will pick up the remainder as I go. Have decided against a GPS but have downloaded the InstaMaper free App on my iphone. I will need to keep the app on for the duration of each walk if my route is to be tracked. It will give me an accurate location to within 20 metres which is pretty good!
(url=http://www.instamapper.com)

6. Finally Books - The first with little detailed maps, hand drawn and very descriptive from Trailblazers - Pennine Way by Edward De La Billiere, Keith Carter and Chris Scott. 3rd edition. Then I bought the littel Cicerone Guide by Paddy Dillon called The Pennine Way which has handy little OS map extracts and good desriptions. These will keep me sweet if in any dilemma.

7. I have a failry basic compas from Eurohike that seems to meet all requirements.

I will follw this blog up with a couple more next week before I go with my agenda and map of the route.
Bye and please don't forget to vist my sponsor page at (url=http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/SuzanneSimmons) any thing no matter how small would be great! x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.067s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb