"One Day More"


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Gloucestershire
June 26th 2014
Published: June 26th 2014
Edit Blog Post

One day more until we depart on our journey - already I have my doubts.

To give some background, this Friday I will be flying to Washington, picking up a car and then driving across the southern half of the United States to San Francisco. It is bound to be a road trip of epic proportions. Throughout the trip I will be travelling through numerous fascinating places, staying at exciting towns and cities, and eating some classic American grub.

My only concern, however, are the two others that will be alongside me. Being the youngest of three brothers has its perks but, as one can imagine and perhaps sympathise with, it has its downfalls. Perhaps the worst of which is my nickname of "Tiny" (or 'Tinor' for accurate pronunciation) which has stuck with me since I was about 7 years old. This nickname is not only humiliating in public but signifies my position in the family - the runt of the litter, the "cute one," and, without parental protection, the whipping boy. "Kit, can you fetch me a drink?," "Kit, can you get my stuff from the car?," "Kit, you can rub lotion on my back?" - some of the few questions (demands) that I can expect to hear on a day-to-day basis.

So, let me introduce you to these brutes. Firstly, there is the middle brother, Jake, whose idea of a good time is going to the darts, whose fridge merely contains Grey Goose and olives (for cocktails, not eating), and whose only liked film on Facebook is American History X (the story of American, skin-head neo-Nazis). He lived the tough life in Nottingham, got kicked out of university and shaved his head for a time - looks like he really does share a passion for that film.

Then there's my eldest, Sam. Despite a degree from Southampton, a masters from the College of Europe and a lifelong membership to the Cognac Club, he can be the least eloquent and most highly-stung person I know. Even as I write this entry the only words that have come from his mouth in the last 15 minutes are "fucking internet, suck a dick, FUCK!" And here was I thinking that he would be relaxed after weeks of exams.

Anyway, these are the two 6'5" giants with whom I will be sharing the close proximity of a Toyota RAV-4 for the next 14 days. Wish me luck...

Advertisement



26th June 2014

Hilarious!
Can't wait to see what happens. Comical and exciting start
26th June 2014

Thank you
Thanks Lucy. Hope you enjoy the rest

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb