I'm-a goin fishin too!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Gloucestershire
August 27th 2005
Published: August 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

My Trip So Far

This is amazing!! If you zoom in enough, you can actually see our Freo house in King William St!

Fishin' in GloucestershireFishin' in GloucestershireFishin' in Gloucestershire

How's the serenity!
Well, despite the lingering desperate need for a job and a place to live, I still feel like I'm on holiday. Went out today with Benny to his grandparents' lake in Gloucestershire and spent the afternoon fishing, drinking lager and playing ukulele. I actually caught a fish! I'm not sure if I ever have caught a fish before, but if I have, none come close to rivalling the size and magnitude of the one I caught today! It was most exciting. There wasn't much action in the lake after that, but the lager and ukulele did a good job of occupying the rest of our time.

When we got home, to make up for lost time I spent the rest of the arvo emailing every possible person I could think of who might have job/accommodation potential around the place. Found an interesting site that recruits people for medical drug-testing for a tidy sum! They shack you up in a place for up to a month (you can go out in the day, and even work another job if you want) with free food and recreational stuff in case you get bored (pool tables, DVDs, internet...etc ...no ukuleles though- i have
Vital SuppliesVital SuppliesVital Supplies

Essentials for any fisherman!
to provide my own) and all you have to do is be healthy and take whatever drugs they throw down in front of you! I know it sounds kind of dodgy and desperate, but (despite the fact that I am somewhat dodgy and desperate) it actually doesn't seem like too bad a deal! Nothing like going to the extremes of getting your little toe cut off and sewn back on by trainee surgeons for £10,000. Now that WOULD be a tidy sum! 😊

Still trying to get onto Ash and Flowerpot to see what their movements are over the next while. I wouldn't mind doing a bit of vanning or wwoofing or jamming or something with them. Miss my friends!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Hook, Line & Sinka!Hook, Line & Sinka!
Hook, Line & Sinka!

Me looking serious as I haul her in...
My Fish!!My Fish!!
My Fish!!

..and very cheesy as I gloat about my catch- WHAT IS WITH THIS CHEESY LOPSIDED SMILE OF MINE!?!?!??? aghhh!
Appropriate Attire?Appropriate Attire?
Appropriate Attire?

Orright, Thai fishing pants and Doc Martins look stupid together...
BennyBenny
Benny

and his *ahem* somewhat INFERIOR catch! :P
BeerBeer
Beer

any excuse will do!
More BeerMore Beer
More Beer

it seems to be all there is to do around here! :S
My DiaryMy Diary
My Diary

Benny's dog shredded it somewhat... just thought I'd share that...


28th August 2005

did you hear the one about the hairy forehead?
Yes, a cautionary tale about lucrative sounding 'medical trials'. I think the hairy forehead says it all. You think you hate shaving now?? There was a time when I also considered such desperate measures... Still, I guess it's something to tell the grandkids (the three-eyed hairy-foreheaded ones, that is)! Anyway, I am really enjoying your blog and the attendant fotays, keep em up lad, keep enjoying yourself and most importantly, remember the dignity inherent in being an impoverished artist! love kyra
28th August 2005

welcome to UK (ele)
hey dude Will have a place for you to stay in Swindon for a while by 12th Sept (new job)if u want.Not exactly the most historical town but.... XX
28th August 2005

"WHAT IS WITH THIS CHEESY LOPSIDED SMILE OF MINE!?!?!??? aghhh!" Don't worry m'dear, you have a darling smile, it does you proud. heh.
29th August 2005

You CANT be serious about being a medical guinea pig!!!
30th August 2005

Em's Folks address
Hi Chaz, good to see you can fend for yourself in the wilds of Britain. Spears and loin- cloths next. Take heed of you wise and worldly cousin, you don't want parts growing shrinking or falling off in years to come because of some biochemist's oversight.

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0194s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb