Runs Under Duress


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Essex
July 22nd 2006
Published: September 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

To say that I pulled up pretty ordinarily would be an understatement. Matty was a late inclusion into the side which gave me some extra time. A cold bath, and some panadol breathed some life back into me.
We ended up bowling first again! I took the first two catches at slip, and then they put on a big partnership. It was drizzling by the time I bowled, which made it difficult in runners. I thought I bowled well, but still went for a lot of runs. 9 overs, 1/60. It was a fast outfield, good pitch, and the batsmen got away with a bit of luck.
Our turn to bat, and I came in at number 3, and I was in for the start of the second over. We made a slow start considering the total we were chasing, but we slowly built it up. Gilly and I put on a big partnership, but then wickets seemed to fall at regular intervals. I ended up getting out for 125 with 7 overs still left, and I’m sure if I stayed in we would have won. In the end we were stranded on 8/300 after our 45 overs. It was a good effort.
Kate had come up to watch, and was pretty surprised with my innings considering the state I was in this morning. The girls had fish ‘n’ chips and drank strongbow while watching the cricket, what a life hey?
Afterwards my energy levels were virtually non-existent, but we ordered a pizza for dinner, and I forced down a few beers before we said goodbye to the boys and caught a taxi home.
It possibly could have been my last game of cricket in the UK today, but I will try and sneak one more in at the end of August.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb