Maiden Hundred in England


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Essex
July 1st 2006
Published: September 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I felt pretty ordinary when I got up this morning. I haven’t been sleeping that well. Matty picked me up for cricket, as we are both in the 1’s today, which is great as Matt is the reason I decided to play for Belhus. We won the toss and bowled first (!). I bowled very badly. 15 runs off my first over. My first 5 overs went for forty something. I came back on late in the game and didn’t fare much better. The end result was 9 overs, 1 for 64. My worst figures ever I think.
There was a quick change of innings due to the soccer being on, and we were soon 2/9. This meant when I came in I was batting with Matty. We started slowly then built a partnership. In one over I hit 5 fours in a row, and could have (should have?) made it 6. I passed 50 first and then Matt.
I knew I was getting close to a hundred as we neared the target, but the fact there was a lot of extras was a worry. Matty looked after me though, farming the strike my way. Two fours in a row gave me my maiden hundred for Belhus and in England, and then two balls later I hit a six to bring up the win with 5 or 6 overs to spare. My 107* was off 112 balls, and contained 17 fours and one six. Matty made 63*.
I had really wanted to make a hundred for Belhus and in England, and was even more appropriate considering how badly I bowled. The boys gave me heaps of stick about my bowling, particularly Billyboy.
Matty and I had got the runs in time to watch the soccer, England versus Portugal. England only fired up after Rooney was sent off. A passionate crowd was in attendance at the club rooms watching the game. Singing, swearing, abusing, supporting. The game went to penalties, and I’ve never seen a crowd go so mad before when Hargreaves got his in, and Robinson saved any. Ronaldo stepped up to heaps of abuse, and he cockily put it away. Don’t think Christiano has many friends in England at the moment. The TV was turned straight off.
Outside we had a barbie, and Captain Tricky was particularly merry. He must have been extremely happy with our win in cricket. His shorts were only just hanging on, and he reminded me of Homer Simpson’s brother Uncle Herbie.
I was still feeling pretty ordinary, so I checked out pretty early.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb