The wedding


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » East Sussex
September 28th 2009
Published: September 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The main reason for me coming back to England was to attend my best friend Tom's wedding. Well after months and months of preparation it finally happened on Saturday.

The main reason for me coming back to England was to attend my best friend Tom's wedding. Well after months and months of preparation it finally happened on Saturday.

The day started early for us and I went around to my friends house at 9:00 in the morning to first of all make sure he was awake and secondly that he was showered and dressed ready for the trip to the wedding venue.

You can see the venue on their website here:

http://www.englishwine.co.uk/

We arrived at the venue at 11:00, two hours before the ceremony was to start. It was my job to make sure everything was under control and most importantly that the groom was relaxed and ready.

Thankfully the weather has been beautiful here for about a week, clear blue skies everyday. The service went beautifully and I completed another of my tasks.........making sure they got the rings.

After the service is was outside for champagne in the garden and photos.

I didn't drink anything as I obviously still had my speech to do after Dinner.

It was hard to eat my dinner as I was feeling very nervous about giving the 'best man's speech' I was lucky that the maid of honour was sitting next to me while we ate and she was able to calm my nerves a little.

My moment came, now I know how all the students must feel at WEB when they have to give their speech. Eighty five people waited for me to deliver my speech. The best man's speech should be funny but also say something touching about the bride and groom. I think I managed this and after about 15 minutes it was over. Perhaps one of the longerst 15 minutes of my entire life. Lots of people came up to me at the end and congratulated me on it so I think it went well. Apart from when I finished my exams at University, I can't remember a time when I was more nervous.

After that it was time to party and for the next 4 hours people ate, drank and danced. It was really a beautiful day.

I said an emotional goodbye (by this time many people had drunk lots 😊 )to the bride and groom as I won't see them before I come back to China, they are off on their honeymoon.

It really was a day I won't forget in the future but it didn't I must say make me think I need to get married anytime soon.

Well I miss you all. I will be back soon but I'm sure you are all looking forward to your holiday coming up.

Best wishes from sunny England

Paul


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb