Back in England


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » East Sussex
September 15th 2009
Published: September 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

(For any neutral readers this blog is intended for my Chinese students in Xiamen)

I've now been back in England for 2 days and yes you've guessed it, it has rained everyday since I got back.

The good news is that I don't seem to be suffering from any jet lag.

It's been great to see everyone again and catch up.

I spent Sunday with my friends Tom and Charlotte, the people who are getting married. They had a wedding get together where I was able to meet people from Charlotte's side of the family and also see many of Tom's friends who I hadn't seen for a long time. Charlotte gave us all a schedule which listed everyones responsibilities for the 'big day'

Lots of people at the get together were really interested in what China was like so I spent most of my time telling them about life in China, the people, the culture and of course the food.....especially gong bao jie ding!

I spent most of yesterday (Monday) planning. One of my responsibilites as best man is to organise the last party for the groom, as I told you before it is called the 'Stag Party' Having spoken to Tom's friends and his brothers on the previous day I decided that it was time to put something in place. However I wasn't prepard for how long it would take to organise. Thankfully it seems that I now have most of the evening in place.

The party will be held in London on Friday and the first thing we will do is take a speedboat ride down the river Thames. The ride is actually named the 007 James Bond Experience. Afer that we will go off to a specially designed bar. It is called Urban golf where will we play indoor golf on a computer simulator. My friend is a big fan of Thai food so we are booked into a nice Thai restaurant on Friday evening. This is as far as the planning goes. After the meal we will be in the centre of London and then it's really a case of going to lots of bars and probably drinking lots of beer. However because I'm the best man it's my job to make sure that the groom gets home safely so I must keep on my toes!

In the afternoon I went with my sister to see my two nieces take part in their dance lesson. Despite the fact that I only saw them 3 months ago it's quite amazing to see how quickly they are growing up.

Well that's all for now. Hope you are all well and more importantly studying hard.

Best wishes from 'rainy' England,

Paul

jet lag (noun) = the feeling of tiredness and confusion which people experience after making a long journey in an aircraft to a place where the time is different from the place they left.
catch up (phrasal verb) DISCUSS = to learn or discuss the latest news.
A get together = a small informal meeting of friends
the big day (noun) = the day you get married
put something in place = establish a plan
keep on your toes = to force someone to continue giving all their attention and energy to what they are doing 

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb