Seven weeks to go!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » East Sussex » Hastings
July 27th 2006
Published: July 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So, this is my first entry on this journal - the first of many I hope. I'm currently working my penultimate day at work, so what better than to write a quick entry here to get this thing going?!

I think my leaving date is seven weeks yesterday, and I have a doctor's appointment tomorrow to go and get my vaccinations. Once this is done, I'll be one step closer to leaving...

At the moment my rough, undetailed itinerary (which gets even more vague nearer the end) is as follows:

September 12 - Fly from London Heathrow to Rio De Janeiro, Brazil.
Spend about a month in Brazil, traveling round bits of the country, which will hopefully include a visit to the Amazon.
Travel overland into Argentina. Spend another month here, before ending up in Patagonia.
November 23 - From Ushuaia, embark on a 10-day trip to Antarctica - woo hoo!
Upon return to Ushuaia, make my way to Santiago, Chile.
December 15 - Fly from Santiago to Auckland, New Zealand.
Spend a month travelling round New Zealand in a campervan, before ending up in Christchurch.
January 15 - Fly from Christchurch to Melbourne, Australia.
Spend 6 weeks here in Australia, staying with my friend Stu. Travel round the area, chill out a bit before ending up in Sydney for a few days.
March 1 - Fly from Sydney to Manila, Philippines.
March 21 - Fly from Manila to Macau, China.
Once in China, I will travel by bus or train to Yangshuo and spend some time here, before overlanding into SE Asia (Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos and Thailand).
From Thailand, I will fly to Hong Kong and spend a week or so here before flying home. This last China and SE Asia part of the trip should last around 4 months. At this stage, I anticipate I will be back in the UK sometime next Summer, although who knows...?

For a rough map of my travels, click here

Advertisement



27th July 2006

Booo!
Don't go!!! Boooooo! xxx
28th July 2006

woo new zealand!
well this trumps my trip!! can't wait to meet a person from the other side of the world ............ on the other side of the world!
30th July 2006

The adventure of a lifetime...
ahhh, to do it all again! Make the most of it all Emily and be warned, once you start, you'll never stop. Travel well! x
31st July 2006

Time of your life...
Here's to a brilliant trip, hope you have the time of your life xxx
12th September 2006

Go for it Em!!
We were thinking of getting a posse together and coming after you! Enjoy every minute but don't forget that I want to hear all about it. Be happy. xxx

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0281s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb