Last train to Brighten


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » East Sussex » Brighton
June 24th 2022
Published: June 24th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Pebbled beachPebbled beachPebbled beach

I use to walk several miles in this direction to Rottingdean.
Well, I hope it is the last train I took on this journey. Currently I am in hotel at the airport and I just got email that my flight is canceled tomorrow morning. Cross your fingers for me that I get a later flight. The rail strike is tomorrow so I cannot leave.
I came to the hotel early and dropped my luggage off, then took the train to Brighten for the afternoon. I used to live there starting with a fellowship at the university of Sussex, and then later in following years. It was nice to go back and find my way around with ease. Not much has changed. I strolled down from the train station and then along the high street. I had to walk through some of the Lanes. They did seem to have changed, or maybe I didn’t have time to find my favourite ones. There seemed to be more cafes than I remembered.

I kept walking until I got to the pier. It seemed smaller than I remembered, but the views were the same except for large buildings on the water over towards Rottingdean. I had a nice salad on the pier, then swung past
Swallows Swallows Swallows

I remember sunsets in this direction with hundreds of birds flying around thar derelict pier.
the pavilion on my way back to the train station. It was a good way to end this six week adventure.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

The Pavilion The Pavilion
The Pavilion

Very gaudy inside.
The LanesThe Lanes
The Lanes

I enjoyed walking through them admiring the jewelry.
Brighten pierBrighten pier
Brighten pier

Not a good photo of this popular place. I used to live a short walk away from here.
WindyWindy
Windy

The weather is changing and will be much cooler this weekend.
Over there Over there
Over there

Is where I lived


Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0686s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb