Final Thoughts...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » East Sussex » Alfriston
March 29th 2013
Published: March 29th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hello all,

Well it's been a week since I returned from Italy and it feels like I never went. This week I thought I'd finish off by sharing with you all some of my favorite moments:

Top ten moments:


• Facing the fear
• Climbing a mountain
• Riding on a Vespa
• Meeting new people from other countries
• Learning a new language
• Learning how to cook
• Italian food (enough stuff)
• All the places I visited - Ivrea, Turin, Rome, Pompeii, Milan, Slovenia, Croatia, San Felice Circeo, Venice, Feltre, Treviso, San Martino, Florence and Pisa
• Trying food I wouldn't have normally eaten - rabbit, frogs legs, polenta, octopus, mussels, sword fish and vodka pasta
• Discovering I can do anything I put my mind to


I don't have any regrets about taking a year out of life and I would have always regretted it if I hadn't. If anyone else is thinking about doing it, then do it! You only live once so live every moment and never look back. I'd like to give you some tips of useful travel information I wish I'd known before I'd gone that would have made my life a bit easier:

Top travel tips:


• If you're going it alone like I did then bare in mind it will get lonely, try and go with a friend/partner so you at least know someone
• Try and learn some of the language before you leave, that way you can at least order a coffee/ask for directions
• Always carry round spare change for the toilets, as everywhere charges you and don't be surprised to find that you are expected to use a hole in the floor!
• Take some of your favourite food/drinks from home with you, it helps with homesickness to have some creature comforts around you
• Be prepared for crap public transport (you'll never complain about TFL again)
• Take you driving test before you go (see above)
• Find a group of other expats to meet up with/talk with, it will keep you sane
• Buy an ereader, mine came in so handy it was definitely a travel essential
• Be prepared for all the crazy people/experiences you're going to have
• Have fun and enjoy every moment, it will be over before you know it!


Well that's all, I hope you've enjoyed reading this blog as much as I've enjoyed writing it. My adventures have come to an end now, but who knows where I'll end up next so watch this space...




Take care,




Soph




XxX



Advertisement



Tot: 0.263s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0583s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb