Goodbye Chester Le Street


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Durham County
May 25th 2008
Published: May 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well after more than a week of being sick with a very nasty bug, both adrian and I are finally on the recovering end... we were pretty much bed ridden for the entire time, it was like the worst hangover ever but without the alcohol... however we did tread on, and with a lot of horrid cough medicine and plenty of paracetamol, we are on track again.

It's always crap being sick, but worse when you're on supposed to be on holiday. I missed out on the beautiful medieval banquet at Lumley Castle which the guys from Chester Le had organised way before we arrived. They had all planned a surprise for us on Friday night with a formal medieval banquet at the castle where Adrian and I were supposed to be the Baron and Baroness (I think Joe pulled some strings with people he knew there). Being Baron and Baroness really just meant we get served first and no one else can eat until we are ready - fine by me!!! Unfortunately I couldnt quite sit past first first course of soup before I had to get out of there. Very disappointed I missed out on the rest of the 5 or 6 courses which were all served medieval style - no cutlery, just good old fashioned hands!! Thankfully I didn't have to go far to get to bed because Adrian's family had also kindly booked us a room in the Castle!!!!!! Amazing!!!!! It was gorgeous and very posh, too bad I was basically out like a light as soon as my head hit the pillow and sort of missed the whole thing the way it was meant to be experienced...

Anyway, finally the time had come to say goodbye to our home away from home, and typical me, couldn't quite hold it in and burst into tears saying goodbye... I think Adrian was a bit unsure whether I was emotional because of the illness or saying goodbye, or just because I'm a girl.

Here are some photos of the rest of our trip from the UK including some of York, Castle and the family.....


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

York York
York

View of York from the top of the Cathedral
Smorgies board of food at Sue'sSmorgies board of food at Sue's
Smorgies board of food at Sue's

Yes Sue did all this... a quiet night at her place for dinner and a game of cards!
Getting serious with the pennies...Getting serious with the pennies...
Getting serious with the pennies...

Never knew a game of Go Fish could be so competitive...
Saying Goodbye... Saying Goodbye...
Saying Goodbye...

Until next time
Lumley CastleLumley Castle
Lumley Castle

Where we dined and stayed


28th May 2008

Can I come to the next cards night? A bit of a departure from the regular chips 'n' beer.

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb