Day 6-Byrness to Langdon Beck-Wed-18th May


Advertisement
Published: May 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

74 Miles
Today has probably been the hardest day of all!!!! Battling with high winds against me with lots of ups and downs. I crossed Hadrian's Wall at a spot I recognised from when I walked it with Mary in 2009 . Equally spectacular views to Scotland but very different. The struggle in my journey was only tempered by the dramatic open moorland scenery. The heights were very wuthering! I had my first fall off the bike-whilst being preoccupied by being buzzed by a curlew and the distraction caused me to go into a rough at the side of the road and with a gust of wind I was blown over! No harm done and I eventually came to a very nice hostel at Langdon Beck. I am really looking forward to a day off on Sat.
Jim


Advertisement



Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 17; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0162s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb