Novenber 1st - Portland Heights


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Dorset » Weymouth
November 1st 2012
Published: November 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

November 1 - Portland Heights– Today was cold but with a clear blue sky. I walked over to the Esplanade in Weymouth and walked over to the Greenhill Gardens. There were a few flowers blooming but most of the flower beds were prepared and waiting for spring to return. The view of the Ocean was quite beautiful and I checked it out from time to time but it was a bit brisk for sitting and enjoying the view. After touring the Greenhill Gardens I walked down the Esplanade to the Jubilee Clock and ate at the King Edwards Fish and Chips…I had fish and chips again of course….with tea.

From the fish and chips restaurant I walked down King Street towards the train station and I caught the #1 bus at the bus stop on Commercial Rd. by the bus station and rode it out to Portsmouth. I bought a £4 daypass for unlimited day use of riding the buses. I had wanted to catch the 501 Open Top bus to Portsmouth Bill but it quit running 2 weeks ago for the season. I rode to the Portland Heights bus stop at the Heights Hotel. There was an incredible view from this point and I took it in but could not stay too long as the wind and cold were seriously “Brisk”. The wind was blowing so hard it literally blew me away from the ledge. I guess I was lucky it wasn’t blowing the other way.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Bus scheduleBus schedule
Bus schedule

The 501 open top bus quit running 2 weeks ago for the season. I took the # bus to Portland Heights.


Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0563s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb