Day 2-3


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Dorset » Bournemouth
April 25th 2008
Published: April 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

River into BournemouthRiver into BournemouthRiver into Bournemouth

This is on the train ride in
After sleeping my first night in Oxford I left the next morning and headed my way to Bournemouth. I am taking the Overseas Nursing program at their University. It is a month course that you do some in class days (April 24, May 9th and May 23rd) those days you have to be at the university, (this proves you are a resident in the UK, etc) and there is a lecture and you can ask questions. Then on the other days you have a big book to answer questions in. Websites for your answers are provided and when I looked through it, it seems easy enough just a lot of busy work. You don't have to complete a certain amount in a day or anything. The workbook has to be finished by the last day of the course. You hand in the book, do a short test and pass the course. After I finish the course I will be off for a while (around 2 weeks) for the paperwork to be finished and get my registeration with the nursing board here. After that I then start my 13 week nursing placement somewhere in the UK. My first choice is Edinburgh, and
Main clock tower Main clock tower Main clock tower

This is beside the main roundabout
with my fingers crossed I hope I will end up, at least somewhere in Scotland. Right now I haven't heard of any available placements yet, things are kinda last minute around here.
After the course Sarah C and I went and hung out around town. I met Sarah C through the internet before I came over, I got her contact from Continental Travelnurse as I knew she would be taking the course at the same time as me. I am really glad I met up with her ahead of time as I didn't find the other people in the course as friendly. The other girls were all in pairs and didn't talk much. There were about 22 people in the course, about 80% are from Australia, 3 from the states, 2 from Canada including myself, 1 from Nigeria and I am not sure about the rest. Travel nursing is really popular in Australia as I have learned, All the people I know are from there.
We went down to the pier and walked around the beach. It was really beautiful, the sand was nice and fine, long clean beach, but very cold. I did put my feet in the English
Road down to B&BRoad down to B&BRoad down to B&B

This is mainly what most of the streets are like
channel, but not for very long. I was surprised to see all of the surfers in the water, I know they had their wet suits but still the water is freezing! After that we went and walked around town to all the little shops, we walked around all the hilly streets and to the park which are really pretty! I would say we walked around for like 4 hours, I was really tired at the end and I now have a blister, hehe. Oh well it was worth it. I am really glad I decided to stay the extra day and hang out with Sarah. If I didn't I would have missed out at looking around town.
After breakfast this morning Sarah and I decided to check out the international farmers market which compared to those in Canada was really small. There were only 6 venders and you really had to know what you wanted to buy. There were different types of cheese and meats, mostly. We didn't spend too much time there as I had to catch the train back to London.
The train ride back went much more smoothly then on the way there, I got on all
Russell Court HotelRussell Court HotelRussell Court Hotel

This is the bed and breakfast I stayed in for the two nights
the right trains. I was just beginning to think I had it figured out till I got to Victoria station in london and didn't know where the bus station pick up was to Oxford. I waited on the corner till I saw the bus and then followed it down the road! It worked out alright, but the bus driver saw me and as soon as I got on the train gave me a map! So now I am back in Oxford, going to attempt to do some homework tomorrow but we will see what I get done.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Man washing windowsMan washing windows
Man washing windows

With the long rod this man was washing all of the windows on the front of the building, you should have seen how hard this would be to do it this way
Telephone booth'sTelephone booth's
Telephone booth's

I think everyone takes this picture!
Bournemouth ParkBournemouth Park
Bournemouth Park

Their parks are so pretty and green!
Me at the top of a hillMe at the top of a hill
Me at the top of a hill

This is at the top of the park looking down toward the beach
SurfersSurfers
Surfers

I couldn't believe how many there were. And the waves weren't even that high, I don't think I saw any of them surf!


27th April 2008

I love all your pics. This blog is a great way to keep in touch :) I miss you but I know your having a wonderful time!

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0916s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb