'Sunny Torquay'


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Devon
December 8th 2005
Published: December 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

London to Torquay


TorquayTorquayTorquay

Ain't it sunny?
Matt:

Just a quick note to update you on my continuing exploration of the little known hotspots of the British Isles (do you think KPMG would mind if I got a second job with Lonely Planet writing the first edition of their guide to ‘How to Explore Britain Courtesy of your Employer’?)…

This week, boys and girls, Uncle Matty finds himself exploring the English Riviera (their description, not mine) - otherwise known as ‘Sunny Torquay’ (For some reason, most travel guides and hotel brochures always seem to prefix ‘Torquay’ with the word ‘Sunny’ - if anyone knows why, please let me know!)…

For those of you that love British comedies, Sunny Torquay is the seaside village where Faulty Towers is set. During my brief stay of less than 24 hours it seemed that the place hadn’t really changed since the show was filmed in the 1970’s. Except, that is (as my cabbie informed me), when some bright spark decided to knock down the original guesthouse featured in the show and replace it with a block of flats!

The town itself had a lot of charm. I’m told (also by my informative cabbie) that during the summer months
My hotelMy hotelMy hotel

I didn't get to use the deck chairs
(or is it weeks?) the town’s population swells from around 200,000 to over 2 million.

Even though I saw it during the off season it still seemed quaint! Might bring Ed back during July!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



22nd December 2005

Oh No Comments
Thought I'd add a comment cause no one else had Love Mum

Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 80; dbt: 0.0888s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb