The Yorkshire Dales


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Derbyshire » Matlock
September 26th 2006
Published: April 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Near Matlock BathNear Matlock BathNear Matlock Bath

Colorful hotel near Matlock Bath.
My original plan was to try to make it to Ireland for a quickie tour. However, a poor weather forecast and the airline losing my luggage forced me to drop back and punt. Instead, I decided to focus on three National Parks in the north of England. The Peak District, the Yorkshire Dales and the North York Moors National Parks.

Starting out from Nottingham, I headed to Matlock Bath on the southern edge of the Peak District. Matlock Bath has been a tourist site since warm springs were discovered there. Nowadays, it’s a major Sunday biking destination seeing close to 1000 bikers on summer weekends. I secured a room at a bed & breakfast for the night.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.21s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0654s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb