Workington


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cumbria
January 22nd 2007
Published: January 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

A retrospective entry, this one, as I completely forgot to document it earlier. So it was in January this year that I ventured north to the Cumbrian coast. Workington, to be precise.

Now then, anyone who listened to Eddie Wareing, in days long gone by, reading out the Rugby League results on a Saturday night (do they read them out any more?) will have an intimate knowledge of that narrow band of towns which spreads across north-west to north-east England encompassing such notable places as Batley, Hunslett, Wakefield, Barrow, St. Helens, Widnes ... and Workington.

As a sports mad youngster down in temperate Manchester, the names of these northern outposts of Rugby League were as familiar to me as the local street names yet I'd never visited any of them. That has now changed. Over the years, I have been to all of the above apart from Workington.

Sadly, the Cumbrian coast ("where the lakes meet the sea") does not do justice to its inland neighbour. Whereas the latter is at the same time, wild, stunning, windswept and beautiful, the latter is anything but. No disrespect intended but, for me, the likes of St. Maryport, Workington and St. Bees do not hold a candle to, for instance, Daymer Bay, Padstow, St. Just-in-Roseland or Salcombe.

That said, I didn't really see very much of Workington at all. The client booked me into the Hunday Manor Hotel and there I stayed for the three days of my visit. As the course was held in the hotel, I worked there, ate there, slept there ..... you get the idea. I did resolve to venture out one night and one of the delegates recommended Whitehaven (another Rugby League town!) but the weather was not very conducive to exploration. In fact, it was blowing a gale, the wind sweeping in off the Irish Sea and not sparing a thought for anything that got in its way, me included.

Sadly, I am unable to recall any of the gastronic delights that must have been served up to me at dinner (or breakfast for that matter). However, I do not remember feeling unduly perturbed either way so the food must have been reasonable, to say the least. As for the room, it was comfortable, spacious and warm and I would definitely stay there again. Mind you, I wasn't paying and I don't know what the bill came to! Finally, with regard to going out, one of my delegates recommended Whitehaven (yet another Rugby League team! Is there no escape?).

One final thought, picture this. A cold winter's morning in January, walking down the lane leading to the town, some miles away, looking out over the cold expanse of the Irish Sea, taking in the bracing wind before striding back up the hill towards the hotel. Invigorating stuff! Three days of that and you'll live for ever!








Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.069s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb