surprise,surprise


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cornwall
June 6th 2008
Published: June 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Just that as not only did the car behave exempalarially but I could visit Vienna and Cologne zoos and still be 12 hrs early for ferry.But to start at the beginning,I left home at 9.30 am on Sat(30th) with half a bannitser(meta) and 1k strawbs(Fatmay) and several tears promising to ring from UK on 2nd. I travelled along main Sofia road until Vidin turnoff and on approaching the ferry I began to think of all bad circs. that could happen (no ferry after 5pm,no sunday sailings etc.)As it turned out I was fine and waited to load onto the ferry across the Danube.It looked black but sky was light and seemed fair.Once offloaded in Romania I followed the route I'd planned out to Timisoara, until about 20KM before there.I remembered that the surface was very reasonable but was upset to see that they had scraped off top surface prior to resurfacing , but that this had not started ,so as I was in a convoy of lorries on such rough roads progress was at a pace of about 20/30kmh.However thunder and sheet /fork lighting slowed things down even further and though it was originally a 'dry' storm when it broke we had blinding rain/hail.As a result I felt very tired after I got to Timisoara eventually,but was determined not to o'nite in Romania and eventually made it to Zazgred(hungary) before pulling over and sleeping for 3 hours.Fortunately,though still concerned re cigs on load, at the border ,they did not do the destruction demolition as on the van and i was glad to be through and bedded down.Of course that is the hardest bit of the journey done and I breezed through to Austria in time for breakfast at 9 am on Sunday.Next stop Vienna and with the purchase of a street map plotted out the route to the zoo(to complete viewing started Oct 2006).Unfortunately despite my best intentions I missed the turning I wanted and ended up in Vienna center where there were no signs to the zoo.Eventually I pulled in to a garage and with their help found my way to the zoo and eventually a parking place.The weather was glorious and I was able to appreciate the Tiergardens as well as the zoo.4hours later I was back on the road for Munich and Cologne.Getting to Munich envisaged a long diversion but the follow on to Cologne was a doddle.Having seen it too had a zoo I was determined to see it but not drive in to town this time.Picked up the right road and pulled in to a garage at the start of the city.I used their car wash and found out where to park and ride.This made things a whole lot more comfortable and I also found their zoo much prettier that Vienna's.I am now determined to call on my way home with my video camera and new camera(bought yesterday in Truro) as 2 parts in particular merit video - namely baboon island and chimp/gorilla enclosures.I discovered that the botanical nature of park and exhibits was worth a visit on its own even if you never saw an animal.!! Back on the road again I had my first mental abberation.Having planned to cros the french border past Lille on way to Namur,i changed my mind and headed for the Brussels ringroad I found so very convenient for Dunquerque,coming from Ilona's at Xmas. Bad mistake as on reaching the ring and requiring a split sec decision I could not see names I recognised in either direction and so headed straight for the center to pick up the trail!!! Bad,bad decision as weather was still heavy rain,time 5ish, and most of brusels trying to get home.Couldn't find signs to ring at first and several times fire engines ,police and ambulance convoys meant traffic piled up with police drafted in to work out out to keep it moving in the face of beligerent drivers determined to buck their authority.Eventually however i did spot a sign for ring road and with some diff. followed it through small back streets to ring.There the only direction I recognised was Liege (where I had been 3 hours before).i went for it and after miles of bumper to bumper queing found the way to there,Lille and Namur,arriving at the boat at 11.30pm instead of about 8.30 probably if I had stuck to my original route plan.Made it onto the midnight boat (12 hrs early) DESPITE MY FURTHER 4 HOURS IN THE ZOO AND 3 SORTING OUT THE MISTAKE AT BRUSSELS.!! We docked at 2am on 3rd and I was on the M37, in pouring rain again where I slept at the services, for a further 3 hours.Arriving in Cornwall bright and early I called with my friend Beth before calling Paula.She was very relieved as my e-mail said I should be arriving the day before!! Today we went to the Royal Cornwall Show which was a treat for me as I had never been around in June before to go.I also visited Eden briefly on the first day to find that the proposed zipwire was now operational and so I intend to make the 10 pound fee my birthday pressie to myself!So all looking good for the rest of the time.I also should be able to see my greatneice (and parents) for the first time on way home(30th).12.10 so rakia in hand I am retiring for tonite.supergran

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 17; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0296s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb