day 2 - st just to st austell


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cornwall » St Austell
April 22nd 2014
Published: April 28th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Day 2 and the first day of proper cycling. Cooked breakfast in the YHA and I think I was going in the wrong direction by 8.45am and then also at 9.15am - soon the roads were ok though and I was cycling on a lonely road from St Just to Penzance. It was dark and cloudy. I saw some lamas in a field and got to Penzance about 10.15am - sat by the parade and looked out at sea and through the mist to St Michaels Mount - and generally felt very good about everything. Also rode past the park where the Cornish Prates play.



Shouting 'you beauties' at the sleek brown lamas

Who like me in my orange, orange top, are out of place

Cornish hills staring out at sea

Ignoring me.

I try to break their backs, but never will.

A flash of rabbit gives me hope

As I push myself up such a lonely slope

A big bosomed black brasier hanging on a farmers gate

And a hunched, speeding, 50cc rider

Hints at short, chaotic, laughing lives

Next to the carefully, crafted artists.

With their bristling brushes and beards peppering the countryside.

All painting in the name of the Lord.



From Penzance I got lost, for some reason determined to avoid Helston, and its not surprising seeing as I am using a GREAT BRITAIN AA ROAD MAP to plot my route. It gives me a general direction and then occasional help from locals gets me on my way. On the smaller roads I can just coast looking around at my leisure. Up and down hills, and then about 2.00pm I find myself after some big roundabouts and main roads at Sainsbury's Falmouth where I have a long rest and lunch. I feel good - the bike is working perfectly and believe it or not I am making headway. Down into Falmouth and another rest while I wait for the ferry to take me across the harbour.

On the other side though the big climb starts. Already I have given up on the climbs and as soon as I see any type of hill off I climb and just push it up. There is one as soon as I get off the ferry and I must have to push it up about a mile before I can climb on again. I jokingly shout 'show off' to a cyclist who cycles past me up the hill and hope he sees the funny side - and say nothing to another cyclist who comes past me but I see he has an electric bike !!! Its about 4pm and I am still some distance from tonight's stop, St Austell. But there is no choice but to push on and after signs for 10 miles, 5 miles, 3 miles etc arrive at the 'Welcome to St Austell' sign. I sit down and get the booking form of my hostel out. It says Boswinger, St Austell I thought this was just a suburb of St Austell and a short phone call to them where they say something like ''roll down the hill and we are 50 yards on the right just next to the super bar showing live football and serving food and beer at a very reasonable price'' - but no it is 10 miles south of St Austell and 10 miles out of my way now and 10 miles out again in the morning and had I known about 15 miles back it would have been a lovely little ride along the coast !!!



What to do? in the end I book into a room above a pub after panicking around St Austell for an hour wondering what to do and being wholly uninspired by St Austell and its town centre offerings of empty or run down looking shops. The room and the pub are good though and fish and chips and a couple of thirsty lagers and I am in bed by 10 pm falling asleep to the news.

Miles done today - I would guess about 65 miles. Count so far 68.



' to a

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0716s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb