Day 1 train to lands end -


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cornwall » St Just
April 21st 2014
Published: April 28th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Well day 1it is - the morning flew by and at about 11.30am the Greens came round to wish me goodbye - and so I was waved down New Road heading to Swindon station. It felt like it had all begun the sun was shining and all good. 12.42pm train to Bristol then change for Plymouth and then a little local train to Penzance. Louise, Jess, Mollie and Ollie waved goodbye to me from the platform as the train slowly pulled away. And then on my own - it had started - I thought I would read but too excited and just looked out the window and eat my packed lunch !!!

squashed in a holiday train, leaning on the window again

old green trees and grass green, jumping, shiny, winding stream

a fat river ever so slow, houses with people I'll never know

red Devon, land of my father, sings to me on a bristling, sunny, perfect day

it just keeps me hanging on.



All 3 trains are very busy and full - all sorts of people, students going to wherever, grans going to look after or come back from looking after grandchildren. A man of about 65 asks me about my trip, he has a big backpack and is walking the route from Cape Cornwall to a Cape something in the north of Scotland - it will take him 6 months and he finishes in September. He is interesting and has lived most of his time in South America but I am too wrapped in my thoughts to really converse. Finally about 6.20pm on a cloudy evening the train pulls into Penzance and the security of the train goes, and I am pedalling on the road very unsure as to what direction to head in from the station. I end up down by the harbour and ask the direction in a shop I had been in, on holiday with the children !! Soon though Penzance is gone and hills and open country ahead. I have a dilemma at a roundabout - do I go to Lands End and come back 3 miles to the hostel or go straight to the hostel ???

I opt for Lands end and so the journey has begun - I switch from zooming down hills to edging up hills slowly, not much traffic since it is Easter Monday night but a fading light means I can't hang around too much. Suddenly the last 2 or 3 miles to Lands End are downhill and with the wind blowing in my face I pass the ''first and last inn in England'' and then Lands End itself. I came here when I was about 6 I think but don't really remember it, and have heard it has gone downhill due to tourism - but no it is rugged and lovely and uplifting, hardly anyone around at 7.30pm and I phone the family and say here I am. I want to stay longer but don't really know where my hostel is so have to leave quickly taking a picture of the 'start sign' on my mobile phone.

Up along a few miles and then left down a few lanes and then I am here at my YHA hostel - a room for 4 but since the hostel is almost empty after the Easter rush I have the room to myself and feel very at home and content. Down to the lounge/common room - 2 Cornish beers then back up at 9.45pm to fall asleep listening to the radio.

I did probably 3 miles today - from Lands End to St Just.

Advertisement



28th April 2014

3Miles
Sounds like three miles was enough after the lengthy train ride. Looking forward to next blog.

Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb