Day 22 - Grindley Brook to Tattenhall


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cheshire
July 31st 2006
Published: August 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Me & MumMe & MumMe & Mum

Mum dropped me off in Grindley Brook where we finished on Saturday!

Day 22 - Monday 31st July



The day started off with some rain, which I was very thankful for! It’s definitely easier to walk when it is not too hot. Mum dropped me off back in Grindley Brook as she was on her way down to Hannah and Rob’s. I decided to walk mainly on roads today since it had rained and I didn’t want to go through muddy fields and get my feet wet! I made really good progress only pausing to chat to one old fellow who told me not to miss the church he had booked his spot in for eternity, due to the views of the valley it had. I can confirm that Church yards are a good place to go during a walk, not necessarily for the view but for the guarantee of a bench to sit down on! However the view from the Church yard was indeed spectacular and I could see down all the way to Liverpool and make out the Cathedral on the skyline… a definite motivational boost that I was on the home stretch!

Nev (My brother-in-law) was meeting me tonight so he was ready for his day’s walking tomorrow.
Way MarkWay MarkWay Mark

Way Mark of Celia Fiennes journey in 1698... I wish I had had a horse and a beautiful hat like she had!
He met me with about ½ a mile to go to the caravan we were staying in for the night and relieved me of my ruck sack, whilst I carried on walking. The caravan was quite hilariously kitsch but good for one night! We went out for a Thai meal (having a car makes everything a lot easier) and I have to report that Nev had “Si Krong Moo Ob Num Peung” for a starter - a prize to anyone who can find out what this is!

Todays Stats
Start Time - 11:30am
End Time - 4:40pm
Miles today - 11.62 miles
Miles Cumulative - 201.88 miles
Steps Today - 24,415
Steps Cumulative - 409,895
Blisters - 0
Chocolate/Granary Bars - 0
Rain - 2 hours rain
Temp @ Noon - 18c



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Way Mark PlaqueWay Mark Plaque
Way Mark Plaque

Who was Celia Fiennes? Why does she get a way mark post? How can I get one? Anyone with a spare half hour on the internet at work see if you can find out who she was and leave me a comment with some info :-)
199.99 Miles199.99 Miles
199.99 Miles

How much? What sort of crazy person walks that far?
BenchBench
Bench

They always seem to have them in graveyards...
Liverpool CathedralLiverpool Cathedral
Liverpool Cathedral

The photo is zoomed in a lot but I could make it out with the naked eye!
NevNev
Nev

In his strange chariot that went a lot faster than walking!
Nev inside our Caravan!Nev inside our Caravan!
Nev inside our Caravan!

Lovely curtains that weren't big enough to cover the windows!


4th August 2006

Celia Fiennes was born in Salisbury in 1662. Celia's father was a Colonel in the Parliamentary army during the English Civil War. From 1685 until 1703 Celia travelled extensively around England. Apart from two servants, Celia travelled alone. On her journey Celia kept notes in her journal about the places she visited and provided the first comprehensive survey of the country since William Camden's Celia Fiennes died in 1741. Celia's journal was discovered in 1885 and published three years later under the title, Through England on a Side Saddle. Nearly Home All the best from IKAR
4th August 2006

Spare half hour on the internet? Sounds like me.
Celia Fiennes (1662 - 1741) was born at Newton Toney, near Salisbury, into a Puritan, anti-monarchist family. She travelled extensively throughout England and Scotland, on horseback and by coach, staying at inns or with relatives, and recorded vivid descriptions of her journeys. These journeys, supposedly for her health, were mostly undertaken between 1685 and 1703; during her ‘Great Journey’ of 1698 she travelled over 1,000 miles. Her travel diaries were published in 1888 under the title ‘Through England on a Side Saddle in the time of William and Mary’, and in them she comments on towns, roads, inns, religious practices and particularly on local trade and industry. She admitted that her journeys were inspired by curiosity. A fine achievement, withot doubt. Can't help feeling the horse should have got the monument though. Well done Helen, you've done an amazing thing and having seen your feet first hand during the blister phase makes it all the more inspiring!!
7th August 2006

Si-Krong-Moo-Ob-Num-Peung
Do I win a prize? :))) 12. Si-Krong-Moo-Ob-Num-Peung Roasted spare ribs marinated in our chef’s special honey sauce Was it nice?
8th August 2006

Well Done Duncan!
Duncan correctly got the Honey Spare Ribs Question correct! In fact far more accurately than the restaurant had translated it I think. He wins a pair of my used inner soles! Only joking - I'll buy you a beer!

Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0726s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb