bottoms up


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cheshire » Poynton
January 23rd 2005
Published: January 23rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Back by popular demand (ahem), I decided to update my blog, hopefully I will be resuming it from somewhere a little more tropical than Poynton in the future, but Poynton is as much excitement as I need for now.

I am well on the mend, as is my friend Annecy, slowly. She came up to visit and we went out for dinner and much sparkly to celebrate and toast our continued road to recovery, it was great to see her out of a hospital bed and with both of us wearing slightly more fetching outfits than green hospital gowns. I have some horrid exercises to do for my fractured right shoulder, I thought the Physio was trying to make me do something completely unnatural to my poor arm at first and then I realised it was just a case of lifting it up to the side.....not that unnatural really...... The hole in my foot is taking a while to fill in, but is much better and not so sore.

My first trip out was to Boots in Poynton in my first week back, my brother took me down in the car and then I shuffled around Boots in a pair of very baggy fishermans trousers, kindly donated by Zoe and Liz in Thailand, a pair of flip flops over socks and my sling, oh yes, and I started talking to myself trying to decide what to buy, I thought my brother was by me but he was hovering at the front of the shop. So I have turned into the strange old lady from Poynton it would seem.

All of my things are packed away in lofts at my Nanna's and Grandma's and most of clothes were down in London, so for the first couple of weeks I was mostly wearing very thin cotton trousers and vests, as donated by the girls in Thailand, or sent home by me from India, but Peelie kindly drove up and brought all my stuff so I am now well equipped for the freezing, snowy days of northern England. I have proper shoes and can walk around now and everything, so of course I have made it to the pub once or twice and round to my mate Jen's, so I'm starting to feel a bit more normal again.

My life is consisting mostly of trips to the doctors, hospital and physio and so far I've made one nurse cry and shown my bum to nearly every single member of staff I've come across, even the poor doctor who was only seeing to my foot, I just can't seem to keep it covered up now, I think I left my dignity back in Thailand, although to be honest there wasn't much to lose in the first place...........

I'm perfectly calm...



Oh yes! Finally, my resolve has been tested! There is a spider that lives in the utility room and is a fair sized wee beasty, I didn't jump for joy when my Dad gleefully led me in to see him in his little corner, but I didn't run away crying either, so the London Zoo spider course is a winner! There was one in the bath too that I calmly spoke to and then carried on cleaning my teeth with him still sat there. I can't believe I had to come all the way back to Poynton in order to see a spider.


So many people have been in touch and visited, it is wonderful to hear and see everyone I can't tell you how much I appreciate it and my folks have been fantastic hosts to everyone. I'm not sure if anyone will be actually reading this as its not quite the same, sat here in my brothers old bedroom in a village in Cheshire, compared to some of the places I've been writing about, but it certainly feels good to be here right now!

Who knows, next time I may even treat you to some photos of some of the sites of Poynton, as Jen so rightly said 'even Poynton is exotic to someone out there', hmmmmm................


Advertisement



Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0812s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb