Home


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cheshire » Poynton
January 5th 2005
Published: January 5th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I just wanted to write a blog as I have had a few emails coming in asking as to my safety and whereabouts after the terrible disaster that has struck Asia. I am one very very lucky lady and still alive, as is my friend which I am so very grateful for after a very terrifying 2 days before I found her. I have only been home now for a few days and apologise for not being able to update this sooner.

My friend and I were in our bunglaow as the wave hit us and carried us off with it, destroying our bungalow and most other things in its path, amazingly we both managed to get out of the water eventually and climb to safety. We are both suffering some injuries but are well on the way to recovery and glad to be home safe and sound.

I would just like to thank every single person who helped me during the whole ordeal, the man, who's name I don't know, who pulled me out of the water, something I couldn't have done alone and so have a great deal to thank him for and may well not be sitting here if it wasn't for him. The wonderful group of people from New Zealand and the lads from Quebec who saw me through the next 24 hours on the top of the island as we waited to find out how we would get off the island. I didn't get chance to say goodbye to the people from NewZealand and hope I have a chance to thank them properly one day. The group of men and women who stretchered me down to the Helicopter, I think they were doing this for a lot of people which was a very tough job and a man called Matt from Australia (I think) who was trying to help as many injured people as possible. After that Krabi hopsital were fantastic coping with so many patients and all the volunteers helping out, in particular two English girls called Zoe and Liz who really took me under their wing and helped me find my friend and looked after us so well.

A big thank you to the private hospital in Bangkok, Vichaiyut, and all of the wonderful doctors and nurses there, they took such good care of my friend and me and were so kind to us. The British Embassy and all the quick efficient work they did in sorting out transfers from Krabi to Bangkok and getting us new passports and helping sort out flights home.

And finally British Airways and their treatment of me on board the plane coming home and at the airport in Heathrow with all the doctors and nurses waiting to treat us at the other end, a lot of which was done by volunteers.

The whole time I was in Krabi I saw so many Thai people and foreign visitors and residents handing out food and drinks and giving people the use of their phones and just sitting and talking to people, so many people who were trying their best to help as many people as they could alongside the hospital staff.

I have met some people who have suffered great loss and yet still were able to say they can take away something positive from the experience. Just to be witness to so much human kindness and generosity of spirit from the Thai people during such a difficult time for their country and from everyone else who gave their time and money to help out.

I was helped every step of the way by everyone I came into contact with and can't emphasise enough how fantastic everyone has been during this time.

One last thing, thank you to all my family and friends, I am overwhelemed by the love and support from everyone and I know my parents have appreciated all the emails of encouragement from everyone.

My thoughts are now with those less fortunate than myself.

Advertisement



5th January 2005

so glad to hear your OK, iv been reading your journals for a while now and was really worried : ) take care
11th January 2005

Hello!
Hi Anna, my mum has been keeping me up to date with your progress back from Thailand, just wanted to say I'm glad you are back safe and sound. She had mentioned you had a travelblog so I thought I would check it out. Take care, Suzanne (previously Marsham!) - Suzanne
22nd January 2005

anna
anna Iwas so glad to hear your ok home and safe with your family good luck for the future I will miss reading your travel blog good luck

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0592s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb