Wait why is the sky that color? And what's that round yellow thing up there?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cheshire » Chester
October 10th 2010
Published: October 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Sheffield was a fantastic weekend; many many thanks to my awesome hostess, Caroline. Enjoy the maple syrup!

Today has had the most beautiful weather of any day since I got here a week ago. After Sheffield, I knew that I would be heading west, so I suspected the train might take us through England's Peak District, a national park known for incredible scenery. I didn't say anything because I didn't want to get my hopes up, just in case.

Anyway we left Sheffield, entered a tunnel, came out and...



...well, you tell me.

I took about five quadri-bazillion pictures on this train, because it was GORGEOUS and I knew most of them wouldn't come out, being through a window of a moving countryside facing the sun.



Got a couple decent ones, all things considered.




Now I'm in a small city called Chester, right on the border of England and North Wales. The city is very nice, but before I get into that, bear with me through one quick diversion...



...let's talk about hostels for a minute.

Some of you know this already.

In America, we think of hostels as dingy and dangerous, in the sketchy parts of large cities. Here in the UK as well as continental Europe, they are (for the most part) clean, nice, friendly and everywhere. This particular hostel (called Chester Backpackers if anyone plans to be in the area soon) is all of those things. Except the last one, because that's sort of impossible, but you know what I mean.

There is a code to punch in to get into the building, as well as the room, so my stuff is safe. My bed looks like this:


and the rest of the room looks like this:



I am sharing with 2 people from France, 1 person from Japan, 1 from Scotland and 3 older women from Malaysia. Earlier this evening the women took turns praying, each of them warning me beforehand. The first woman told me "so you will not be surprised." Before that, a group of three English girls whom I'd seen in the reception area recognized me on the street and invited me to dinner (I'd already eaten). Being a solo traveler in a hostel is really cool like that, because you share a relatively small space with nice, (mostly) respectful people from all over the place. Highly recommended.

Also free WiFi and a free map, and pretty much I would sleep on a stone floor for those things.

Done now. Chester!



Lovely place with a lot of the faux-Victorian architecture.



All the requisite items for a small English city.



Check.



Check.



Check.



Check.



I spent a long time gaping at this. Absolutely gorgeous. Because it's Sunday, I couldn't go in, but amazing anyway.



The second most photographed timepiece in all of Europe, I'm told.



Oh and some Roman ruins! This used to be an ampitheater once upon a time. Later a Dark Ages castle with a crypt. Apparently they were digging to build a private school when they discovered it.



The history of Chester in case anyone is interested.



Walking along the Roman wall, I came across this view on the northern tower facing west. If my guide book and my sense of direction are correct, on the horizon is this blogger's first ever view of the lovely mountains of Wales.



A pretty place, but honestly half an afternoon was enough. I'm glad I got to see it, but other than a peek inside the cathedral, I don't think there's anything I would have wanted to do here if I'd had more time.

Early morning tomorrow for Wales. Not sure if the hostel has wifi there; since it's deep in the mountains of Snowdonia national park, it may not. If not, I'll blog again once I get back to Cambridge. There will be pictures and copious gushing, never you worry.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb