P-a-a-r-r-t-y-y-y


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cheshire » Chester
November 18th 2006
Published: November 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Party at The PigParty at The PigParty at The Pig

AJ, Speedy, Nikki, Nikki, Kate, Tank, Ra, Tox and Roger seeing me off.
With every departure their HAS to be a leaving party surely. That’s the way I look at things anyway and consequently this week, prior to my going away, seems to have been just that, one big party.

Things got underway on Wednesday. Having said my goodbye’s earlier in the day to my wonderful colleagues who generosity provided me with the camera that has taken the snaps on this blog, it was my last opportunity to bid au revoir to all my piglets. For those of you unaware of the name Metal Pig (shame on you), it is the weekly rock night I founded over six years ago in Chester and which has taken up every Wednesday night, holidays excluded, ever since. During those years I’ve made formed some good friendships, albeit with people a generation younger than myself, and saying goodbye wasn’t going to be easy.

To any stranger entering RB’s Nightclub on Wednesday night around 1.30am, the unprecedented sight of a slightly inebriated middle aged man being paraded shoulder high around the club must have proved quite an alarming site, somewhat akin to a suspected witch being exhibited to the baying crowds prior to an unjust roasting at
Party at The PigParty at The PigParty at The Pig

E Man, moi and Nikki.
the stake. When four twenty something muscle bound men take you by the the ankles and arms and hoist you upon high you don’t fight it believe me, you offer no resistance, you just lie back and enjoy the ride and having gently been placed back on my feet the sight of the very same mob accompanying Dame Vera Lynn in the most heart warming rendition of “We’ll Meet Again” I’ve ever heard must have proved just as bizarre. Metal Pig has been my life every Wednesday between 10pm and 2am for a long time now, it’ll be sadly missed but at least I leave knowing my pal Peter will keep the flag flying until my return.

Friday 17th, party time again. Numerous people had said to me that “we must go out for a drink before you leave”, so many that rather than run the risk of liver failure before I’d even boarded a plane, I decided to kill all the birds with one stone and hold a bit of a do. I must admit, I did feel a bit of a fraud having a leaving party when I’ll be back before you even know it but I’ve
Party at The PigParty at The PigParty at The Pig

Lara and Kat
never needed an excuse for a party and hopefully never will. There were no invites, no food and basically no idea who was going to turn up and I must admit visons of sitting quietly in the corner with my mum and dad and no one else did go through my head. The reality couldn’t have been further reserved from my fears. I had an absolute ball. Every person there had made the effort to venture out on a cold November night especially for me and that meant more to me than words can express. Thankyou again everyone who was there and for the gifts and cards you brought.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Party at The PigParty at The Pig
Party at The Pig

The Pig and the three bears (Rich, Toby and Tank)
Party at The PigParty at The Pig
Party at The Pig

Shelley and Phil
Leavin DoLeavin Do
Leavin Do

Jimmy, Neil, Tel, Rob, Marco, Gaz and Ang watch as I attempt to garot Billy
Leavin DoLeavin Do
Leavin Do

Me and my housemates, 'The Astburys', Louise, Mark and Joseph.
Leavin DoLeavin Do
Leavin Do

Me and The Bees. Sister Helen, Russ, Katharine and Alex.
Leavin DoLeavin Do
Leavin Do

Me mam and dad.
Leavin DoLeavin Do
Leavin Do

Waymo, Clare, Debbie, Margy and Steve kickin' up a storm..
Leavin DoLeavin Do
Leavin Do

The last survivors. Champagne toast for the last ones standing. Azzer, Ange, Di, Tim, and a slightly inebriated Moose on my knee.


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb