Driving Part I


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cambridgeshire » Huntingdon
June 6th 2008
Published: September 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I love it...These people actually seem to know how to drive out here...well sort of. Once you get used to it, the driving is rather "smooth" for the most part. I've only seen two stop signs so far...and one of those were on base. The rest is roundabouts and yield signs. There are few speed limit signs and those that do exist don't seem to apply. The only thing I try to respect is going through the villages as it is a bit crowded with parked vehicles and narrow roads (some just slightly wider than my car). The roundabouts can be a bit confusing and take some getting used to. Here's how they work:
Rather than an intersection, a variety of roads (3-6 or more) join into this circular road. The person to the right has the right of way. Now if there is no one coming you can keep going without stopping. Where I'll probably get nailed one of these days is I forget to look right to see if anyone is coming which could make for a bad day. The only downfall is that during heavy traffic you can be waiting a few minutes for the traffic to clear up and you can go. I won't try to explain how to use your turn signals, you just have to experience that.



The average speed is about 70+ on the "highway" with the exception of the Lorries (semis) which have a limiter of 55 which can suck if they get in front of you. Otherwise, if you come up on someone slower than you in the "fast lane" they usually get out of the way...it's common courtesy.
Haven't seen many cops and not one person pulled over. They do have speed cameras but from what I heard, half of them don't work. My girlfriend will usually give me a heads up in areas where they are also..."Please watch your speed" and she'll let me know what the speed limit is.

I bought a Honda Accord, British Spec (steering wheel on right side) for $1000 and put $200 into it so far for a tune up. Have to replace the brakes and the tranny may not last too much longer but it should hold up until I can pay off some bills and get a loan for a real car...



Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0299s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb